PDA

View Full Version : Live Session - Family Creation Series | Intro to Families



rkitect
February 22nd, 2012, 03:20 PM
Edit:
Session Recording: Meeting Recording: Family Creation Series, by Carl "TotD" Gibson | Intro to Families (Part 1) | AnyMeeting - The Completely Free Web Conferencing and Meeting Service (http://www.anymeeting.com/rfowebinar/EA53DD84844F)

See below for session files.
---------------------------------------

I'm going to start up a live session series on Family Creation, to correlate with the series I have planned for my blog. Kill 2 birds with one stone. The outline I have thus far looks about like this:
6735

I know there has been interest in Shared Parameters and I'll find a place in the outline for that. Please take a look at the outline and let me know what else you would like to be specifically covered. At some point int he series I'm going to basically make it a choose your own adventure where you get to decide where the next session goes! :)

For now, I will start slow and basically be recapping some of the posts I already have on my blog.

Who: Myself and you, babes!
What: Family Creation - an intro into templates, family planning and what families really are to Revit.
When: Wednesday, February 29, 2012, 21:00GMT, 16:00 ET
Where: Anymeeting.com, munk will set up the link when it's time.
Why: Cause you asked for it!

Come ready to ask questions and learn! Use this post to make your topic suggestions for the family creation series.

Alex Cunningham
February 22nd, 2012, 03:58 PM
Calendar event created: http://www.revitforum.org/calendar.php?do=getinfo&e=19&day=2012-2-29&c=1

Sign up for you e-mail reminder!!!

cellophane
February 22nd, 2012, 04:14 PM
I think Shared Paramaters is probably worth it's own session.

Covering shared components / paramaters (from the categories options) would be good also.

Munkholm
February 22nd, 2012, 05:41 PM
Figured I could activate the "Event Timer" while cooking dinner for the family... But the date, February 29th, kinda threw me off, which caused some rather burnt meat :p

So for those also stumped by the date... This year is in fact leap year, and February 29th is NOT a mistake :beer:

Looking forward to it Carl!

brinxb
February 22nd, 2012, 07:33 PM
Sounds awesome!

What do you need to set up to participate i.e. can someone please point me in the right direction - I've done the hard part (told my wife that a week tonight not to worry if she catches me online listening to someone talking about creating families!) :laugh:

feio
February 22nd, 2012, 07:35 PM
Who: Myself and you, babes!

Yep, I'm a babe alright.

Now, seriously, one of the errorsI find most common in families is the wrong startup template.
It is very very important, because unlike changing parameters or geometry, you have to redo everything almost from scratch.

Munkholm
February 22nd, 2012, 08:09 PM
Sounds awesome!

What do you need to set up to participate i.e. can someone please point me in the right direction - I've done the hard part (told my wife that a week tonight not to worry if she catches me online listening to someone talking about creating families!) :laugh:

:laugh: Now that you've done that part, there's really nothing much that needs done, besides waiting. ~15 minutes before the session, we'll post a link to the session in this thread, so just keep an eye on the EventTimer at the forum homepage, or use the calendar link above to get a reminder by email.

The session will take place on anymeeting.com, which don't require any downloads or installs. Just make sure to mute the wife, and turn on the speakers, that's all.

brinxb
February 22nd, 2012, 08:25 PM
. Just make sure to mute the wife, and turn on the speakers, that's all.

A generous glass and a nearby bottle of wine will ensure that. Might just steal a glass or two myself :wine:

rkitect
February 23rd, 2012, 03:30 AM
The session will take place on anymeeting.com, which don't require any downloads or installs. Just make sure to mute the wife, and turn on the speakers, that's all.

It will actually require the latest Java install if you don't keep up with those things. This is what delayed me from getting started on time in the last session. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Munkholm
February 23rd, 2012, 06:55 AM
Good to know! Thanks Carl.

Siml
February 24th, 2012, 11:17 AM
Will this session be recorded and uoloaded or something? 2100 GMT is a bit late for us in the warm east?

Munkholm
February 24th, 2012, 11:19 AM
Yes, It'll be recorded. All recorded session can be found here: Live Sessions - Archive (http://www.revitforum.org/live-sessions-archive/)

W.Neuok
February 24th, 2012, 01:25 PM
Just curious but is this session going to include MEP connectors?

rkitect
February 24th, 2012, 01:26 PM
This session, no. Future sessions, yes. Also hello to a fellow TTRUG member! :)

WineGuy
February 24th, 2012, 10:01 PM
looking forward to this....thanks for doing it

mattivers
February 25th, 2012, 06:45 PM
I can't wait to listen to what you have to say... I really am desperately wanting to learn more about family creation in Revit. Thanks and hope to attend more of these in the future.:)

revit8sme
February 28th, 2012, 02:59 PM
This is at 4pm eastern, right?

Munkholm
February 28th, 2012, 05:55 PM
This is at 4pm eastern, right?

Just find your city (or one nearby) on the list below, and you should have the answer to that ;)



Honolulu
11:00


Las Vegas
13:00


Los Angeles
13:00


Seattle
13:00


Calgary
14:00


Denver
14:00


Phoenix
14:00


Salt Lake City
14:00


Chicago
15:00


Dallas
15:00


Guatemala
15:00


Mexico City
15:00


Minneapolis
15:00


New Orleans
15:00


Atlanta
16:00


Boston
16:00


Detroit
16:00


Havana
16:00


Indianapolis
16:00


Lima
16:00


Miami
16:00


Montreal
16:00


New York
16:00


Philadelphia
16:00


Toronto
16:00


Washington DC
16:00


San Juan
17:00


Santo Domingo
17:00


St. John's
17:30


Buenos Aires
18:00


Santiago *
18:00


Brasilia *
19:00


Montevideo *
19:00


Rio de Janeiro *
19:00


Sao Paulo *
19:00


Dublin
21:00


Lisbon
21:00


London
21:00


Reykjavik
21:00


Zürich
22:00


Amsterdam
22:00


Barcelona
22:00


Belgrade
22:00


Berlin
22:00


Brussels
22:00


Budapest
22:00


Copenhagen
22:00


Frankfurt
22:00


Madrid
22:00


Oslo
22:00


Paris
22:00


Prague
22:00


Rome
22:00


Stockholm
22:00


Vienna
22:00


Warsaw
22:00


Zagreb
22:00


Athens
23:00


Beirut
23:00


Bucharest
23:00


Cairo
23:00


Cape Town
23:00


Helsinki
23:00


Istanbul
23:00


Jerusalem
23:00


Johannesburg
23:00


Kyiv
23:00


Sofia
23:00


Tallinn
23:00


Baghdad
00:00


Doha
00:00


Kuwait City
00:00


Minsk
00:00


Riyadh
00:00


Tehran
00:30


Dubai
01:00


Moscow
01:00


Kabul
01:30


Islamabad
02:00


Karachi
02:00


Lahore
02:00


Tashkent
02:00


Bangalore
02:30


Kolkata
02:30


Mumbai
02:30


New Delhi
02:30


Kathmandu
02:45


Yangon
03:30


Bangkok
04:00


Hanoi
04:00


Beijing
05:00


Hong Kong
05:00


Kuala Lumpur
05:00


Manila
05:00


Perth
05:00


Shanghai
05:00


Singapore
05:00


Taipei
05:00


Seoul
06:00


Tokyo
06:00


Darwin
06:30


Brisbane
07:00


Canberra *
08:00


Melbourne *
08:00


Sydney *
08:00


Suva
09:00


Auckland *
10:00


Kiritimati
11:00

Alex Cunningham
February 28th, 2012, 06:26 PM
If you went to the calendar, see the 2nd post in this thread. Revit Forum - Revit, BIM, Architecture & Engineering. (http://www.revitforum.org/calendar.p...=2012-2-29&c=1) It would tell you when it will be happening in your time zone.

Note: you do have to have your time zone correctly set in your http://www.revitforum.org/profile.php?do=editoptions

rkitect
February 28th, 2012, 10:47 PM
4pm EST is correct.

Danial
February 29th, 2012, 06:06 AM
Awwww, 5am... Must check my coffee machine is working....

Vlenca
February 29th, 2012, 08:27 AM
I'll be sleeping at the time, after hardwork day, but I will really check it in archives next day.

robinRHCA
February 29th, 2012, 12:12 PM
Would it be possible to look at parametric angles in families and use of parametric detail components within families at some stage? I have been trying to build a bay window family with a detail component to draw in the wall junction in detail in fine and coarse mode, but have found it impossible to use a reporting angle from the main family to drive the detail component to fit the angled junction as the bay window family flexes, use of angles always seems to reult in an overconstrained family if enough constraints are placed to adjust angle and position.. I have resorted to doing the math to set up orthogonal reference planes, but this becomes horrendously complex to do more than a single detail component region fill for the coarse mode, and I would hope that reference lines and reporting angles could be used to drive a more complex detail component that models the angled wall, cavity, plaster, and cavity closer etc. I assume it is not a bug in the angle constraint mechanism and that i just havent got my head round using it properly, but am starting to wonder!

Looking forward to your live session, and hope you can consider the issue of using reporting angles to drive embedded detail components in families either in this or a future session.

Thanks
Robin

rkitect
February 29th, 2012, 06:25 PM
I'll put reporting parameters in my mind map, but it probably won't be covered till later in the series. We need to build up to fun stuff like that!

Today's session is going to be very intro. Some Family Planning, what information the templates contain, maybe get in to cuttable families, etc, etc. Please keep making suggestions thought because I am adding it to my session tree.

robinRHCA
February 29th, 2012, 07:17 PM
Ok, looking forward to the session.

Another issue though:
If a sweep form is used in a family, is it possible to still control the loaded profile parametrically from the family, or does it become locked into its form at the time the sweep is made?

Thanks
Robin

C Daniel
February 29th, 2012, 07:36 PM
Robin,

the profile is still controlled parametrically through the family
You just need to recreate the parameter types in the family and equal the profile parameters to the relavent familly parameters

Munkholm
February 29th, 2012, 07:43 PM
The session is now live, and can be joined from this link:
Family Creation Series, by Carl "TotD" Gibson | Intro to Families (Part 1) - AnyMeeting | Free Web Conferencing, Webcast and Meeting Service (http://www.anymeeting.com/rfowebinar1)

There's "only" room for 200 attendees, so hurry up and find yourself a seat.

The Session will start in ~17 minutes :beer:

ahmed_hassan
February 29th, 2012, 09:20 PM
Mmm thanks carl great session can we see next time how this security devices modelled with its field of view ? that i think by refrence line. the new things to me i learned is cuttable family and non cuttable family thanks.

rkitect
February 29th, 2012, 09:39 PM
I will need to double check that question, Robin, because if I recall correctly profile parameters do not pass through to host families; but I may be confusing that with things like Wall Sweeps which are system family sweeps inside of a project.

Typically, you can pass parameter information through to host families fairly easily. I will go over that in the shared ad nested components sessions.

rkitect
February 29th, 2012, 09:41 PM
Ahmed, I added your request to my session tree. I will continue the next session using the Area of View model as an example.

rkitect
February 29th, 2012, 09:43 PM
Thanks everyone for showing up an making me feel special. I know it was a pretty calm session for a lot of you *cough*K*cough*Urik*cough*. I had to go over the basics though for it to be a series. Please remember to keep posting your questions and suggestions so that I can continue to add them to the session tree. Keep an eye out for the next Live session reminder coming up soon. Sorry I can't do once a week, I just have a LOT on my plate at the moment.

Thanks again,

feio
February 29th, 2012, 09:49 PM
[QUOTE=revittotd;48537if I recall correctly profile parameters do not pass through to host families; but I may be confusing that with things like Wall Sweeps which are system family sweeps inside of a project.[/QUOTE]

You recall correctly. It's not available in the list of types allowed.
Nevertheless, a parameter of type profile would be extremely powerful!
Great potential, just imagine changing door frames just by changing profiles. Like you do with system mullions.

rkitect
February 29th, 2012, 10:02 PM
There is an easy workaround that requires only minimal more effort in the profile family. I will discuss this in the nested components session.

rkitect
February 29th, 2012, 10:05 PM
Here is a link to the session recording. If it's not working then give it about 10 more minutes. It may still be compressing. I will also update the initial post with the files from today's session attached as well.

Session Recording: Meeting Recording: Family Creation Series, by Carl "TotD" Gibson | Intro to Families (Part 1) | AnyMeeting - The Completely Free Web Conferencing and Meeting Service (http://www.anymeeting.com/rfowebinar/EA53DD84844F)

Munkholm
February 29th, 2012, 10:27 PM
Another issue though:
If a sweep form is used in a family, is it possible to still control the loaded profile parametrically from the family, or does it become locked into its form at the time the sweep is made?

Off-topic, but Nope! You can rotate and flip a profile when used in a family, but you can't control the size of it... Hmm... That sounds like a wish list item. ;)

Munkholm
February 29th, 2012, 10:27 PM
Thanks Carl! Yet another great session - And the above link it working just fine already :beer:

MPwuzhere
February 29th, 2012, 10:47 PM
I got in a little late....will have to try to be on-time for the next one...

mdradvies
February 29th, 2012, 10:54 PM
Off-topic, but Nope! You can rotate and flip a profile when used in a family, but you can't control the size of it... Hmm... That sounds like a wish list item. ;)

Yes you can... You can edit any kind of profile parameter through the host family. And even nest those and link them into the parent...

Munkholm
February 29th, 2012, 10:59 PM
Show us the Magic Mark Twain!!

derek4484
March 20th, 2012, 07:08 PM
Are these still going to be done? I sat in on the first one on Feb 29th and it was pretty good. Was waiting on the rest??

Munkholm
March 21st, 2012, 08:35 AM
Are these still going to be done? I sat in on the first one on Feb 29th and it was pretty good. Was waiting on the rest??

Yep. Part 2 is scheduled for today - See this thread (http://www.revitforum.org/architecture-general-revit-questions/7072-live-session-family-creation-series-2-a.html) (and the count down clock on the forum homepage)

dzatto
March 21st, 2012, 02:17 PM
Off-topic, but Nope! You can rotate and flip a profile when used in a family, but you can't control the size of it... Hmm... That sounds like a wish list item. ;)

Sure you can, in the family itself. Unless I'm misunderstanding the original question.

You can't control it in the project, though.

Gez.Chugg
May 15th, 2012, 06:58 AM
I am very much new to live sessions ie. i have no idea at all. I would like to view the recorded sessions as they have already been and gone however when i go to the Live Sessions Archive all i manage to find is a lik to the thread that discusses the live feed and I'm at a loss as to where to find any recordings. Thanks

cellophane
May 21st, 2012, 05:29 PM
This may have been covered and I missed it - but I tend to have trouble over constraining families. Could you get into planning constraints and ways to avoid over constraining? It's most likely a mind-set issue on my end but I tend to think that I need a constraint for every little thing in the family, rather than leveraging workplanes and formulas more. (i.e. I over think it)