Page 3 of 25 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 242

Thread: Building a Revit Template

  1. #21
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,275
    Current Local Time
    02:03 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Okay, I need to be schooled on Model Groups. Are you saying I could save an entire project as a model group? Then, when I insert it every view is where it should be?

    The other problem I have is that the boss will want a full set of plans in a day. No joke. He thinks that since I built a lube center last week, this on should be just like it so just print it out. Thats why I wanted a base drawing. But it does suck to do it that way.

    At one point I had 3 different building codes (BOCA, UBC, and SBC). That's 3 sets. Then there is a right hand and a left hand office. Then there's front load and back load. SO I had a ton of "typicals" and keeping them updated was a chore to say the least.

    So please explain model groups a bit more while I check the online help.................Thanks!

  2. #22
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,151
    Current Local Time
    02:03 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    No, the views wont be set up, or even present. But you can have "the notes" in all of the views, even though the views dont exist yet. So you would still have to make all of the views on day one after inserting the Model Group, but then after making all of the views, you could select the Model Group and say "Place the attached detail group for the "Restroom elevation" in this view," and it will automatically.

  3. #23
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,275
    Current Local Time
    02:03 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Jones View Post
    dude! that's your template (or one of them anyway), the model with the lube bays in it. Just save it as an .rfe file, add all of the stuff Aaron said above and you're good to go.
    Only if I take the project that is half way done and start making a template out of it. I was going to start from a blank OOTB template with nothing in it yet (as far as modeling).

    Maybe I'll just finish the project. Then do a template later. Then update the project..........again. lol Either way it's a lot of work. May as well get started..........

  4. #24
    Moderator
    "I am NOT a Revit tutor!"
    Dave Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, California USA
    Posts
    4,574
    Current Local Time
    12:03 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by dzatto View Post
    Only if I take the project that is half way done and start making a template out of it. I was going to start from a blank OOTB template with nothing in it yet (as far as modeling).

    Maybe I'll just finish the project. Then do a template later. Then update the project..........again. lol Either way it's a lot of work. May as well get started..........
    my template is getting created slowly over time as I do projects and find settings that I want to change etc. I'm self employed and can't afford the time to stop and create a really good complete template. I frankly wouldn't know how to go about it anyway as I learn more and different things on each project. Small steps sometimes gets you to your destination also

  5. #25
    Moderator
    "Mark Twain"
    mdradvies's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Location
    Boxtel, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,564
    Current Local Time
    07:03 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Jones View Post
    my template is getting created slowly over time as I do projects and find settings that I want to change etc. I'm self employed and can't afford the time to stop and create a really good complete template. I frankly wouldn't know how to go about it anyway as I learn more and different things on each project. Small steps sometimes gets you to your destination also
    Yep, that's the way I've done it too. And by the looks of the OP, I will need a few rounds in the future.

    As for the practical way to create a model group: take a "basic" project, remove everything not so basic about it. Then go to a 3D view with everything on, select all, create group. It will ask you to incorporate some stuff, among other Detail Components.

  6. #26
    New Member
    Join Date
    March 23, 2011
    Location
    East Kilbride Scotland
    Posts
    2
    Current Local Time
    07:03 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    This is great for us beginners. Thanks Aaron

  7. #27
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,796
    Current Local Time
    05:03 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    thanks Aaron, i fully appreciate you sharing your wisdom here if i hadn't given you so much rep already i'd be adding one more

    i don't understand why anyone would start a professional project without their own template, kinda goes directly against what Revit and the way it functions is all about.
    like the others above we update in small steps when necessary

    At my work we have two templates, one arch and one mep.

  8. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    Portland, ME
    Posts
    24
    Current Local Time
    03:03 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks! It's great to have a to-do list. A lot of this we've done, but I haven't tackled some of it yet, and this makes me want to start tackling today. Or at least as soon as this deadline is out the door. I've been using Revit for a whopping 4 months, and am just starting to think I might have a handle on it some day. Meanwhile, the rest of the office is about to start projects, and I want to have the template much further along before they do. This is a great help!

  9. #29
    Moderator
    "Mark Twain"
    mdradvies's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Location
    Boxtel, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,564
    Current Local Time
    07:03 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by cogan View Post
    Thanks! It's great to have a to-do list. A lot of this we've done, but I haven't tackled some of it yet, and this makes me want to start tackling today. Or at least as soon as this deadline is out the door. I've been using Revit for a whopping 4 months, and am just starting to think I might have a handle on it some day. Meanwhile, the rest of the office is about to start projects, and I want to have the template much further along before they do. This is a great help!
    As long as no new deadline shows up...

  10. #30
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,275
    Current Local Time
    02:03 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by elton williams View Post
    i don't understand why anyone would start a professional project without their own template, kinda goes directly against what Revit and the way it functions is all about.
    Ehh, not really. I don't have a template yet, but I've completed a few projects. Do templates help? Absolutely. Do you need one eventually? Definately. Do you have to have one before you do a project? Not at all.

    I don't have the time to stop all production and create a template. When I have a few moments, I'll start one. But I also have to do a ton of families at the same time. Then, when I think I have some down time, another project comes up! lol

    Then again, I'm in a different position than most firms. I'm the only Revit user/ designer. So I can change stuff whenever I want without any consequence. So, I guess if I worked in a huge firm and was going to roll out Revit to 100 users, then I'd probably have templates in place. But I wouldn't go so far as to say it's absolutely necessary before doing a professional project. Just my 2 cents......

Similar Threads

  1. Consultant Links in the template: Best Practices
    By Gordon Price in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: October 22nd, 2018, 05:42 PM
  2. Revitforum Template - Doors
    By mdradvies in forum Nederlands forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: August 30th, 2011, 08:43 AM
  3. View Template Best Practice
    By Gordon Price in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 21st, 2011, 11:18 AM
  4. Update template to RST2012 problems
    By jh75 in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 17th, 2011, 03:40 AM
  5. What is the Window-Curtain Wall template used for?
    By t1shep in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 3rd, 2011, 10:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •