Page 4 of 25 FirstFirst 1234567814 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 242

Thread: Building a Revit Template

  1. #31
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,261
    Current Local Time
    01:35 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I somewhat disagree. If youve managed to do a few projects already, then you had to make some of the families and some of the decisions already. Besides, while SOME of the stuff on the list takes a long time (Material library) some of it- which doesnt appear obviously fast... Setting up the filters and view templatess, for instance) can be done in less than a day, and i guarantee it costs you more than that on every project youve done.

    I wouldnt say its *absolutely necessary* ever. <shrug> Just depends on how efficient and how polished you want things to be.

  2. #32
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,280
    Current Local Time
    01:35 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    I somewhat disagree. If youve managed to do a few projects already, then you had to make some of the families and some of the decisions already. Besides, while SOME of the stuff on the list takes a long time (Material library) some of it- which doesnt appear obviously fast... Setting up the filters and view templatess, for instance) can be done in less than a day, and i guarantee it costs you more than that on every project youve done.

    I wouldnt say its *absolutely necessary* ever. <shrug> Just depends on how efficient and how polished you want things to be.
    I agree. That's what I was getting at. It definately saves time to not have to set up some things for every project. And I suppose you are never really finished with a template, it's always evolving. But, I wouldn't say you have to have a template done before you do a project.

  3. #33
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,576
    Current Local Time
    11:35 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You need to make time for this. You are making families and projects that wont have any sort of standards once you have a template in place. Then you will have to go back and spend even more time upgrading those origional projects and families. 2 days spent now will save you 2 months in the future. Explain this to your boss and the return on investment. Give him hard numbers and the cost savings.

  4. #34
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,280
    Current Local Time
    01:35 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You sound like my mom! lol

    I'll get to it sooner or later. My boss doesn't care about ROI because he expects me to get the projects done in 1/10 the time it should take already. He can't be bothered with templates and families and such. He just wants permits. lol

  5. #35
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,576
    Current Local Time
    11:35 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Tell him that the city is requiring a project templete for the permits.

  6. #36
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,280
    Current Local Time
    01:35 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Alex Cunningham View Post
    Tell him that the city is requiring a project templete for the permits.
    That just might work. But he will want a full template in 2 hours. lol

    I'm so glad you have a sense of humor. Seriously.

  7. #37
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,576
    Current Local Time
    11:35 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I bet you could get Aaron to make you one in 2 hours.

  8. #38
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,261
    Current Local Time
    01:35 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Aaron is contemplating giving them out if his classes get accepted to one of two venues. Wouldnt be the Beck Template, but a good starter.

    EDIT: And my main point at the beginning of the post, was this: This is WHY Revit gets the reputation of never being able to give off a polished look, of nice drawings, of office standards. These things dont generally take long to do. Dan, for the amount of hours you put in, ill bet you could crank for ONE WEEKEND and have 3/4 of that stuff done.

  9. #39
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,280
    Current Local Time
    01:35 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    Aaron is contemplating giving them out if his classes get accepted to one of two venues. Wouldnt be the Beck Template, but a good starter.

    EDIT: And my main point at the beginning of the post, was this: This is WHY Revit gets the reputation of never being able to give off a polished look, of nice drawings, of office standards. These things dont generally take long to do. Dan, for the amount of hours you put in, ill bet you could crank for ONE WEEKEND and have 3/4 of that stuff done.
    I like the way my drawings are looking in Revit OOTB! Plus, who wants to work on a weekend??
    I'm starting a template now. It's rough, but it's a start.

    I had to add a car wash to a project I did last year in ACA today, and man am I hating life right now. I never realized how clumsy ACA was until I went to Revit, template or no template.

  10. #40
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,280
    Current Local Time
    01:35 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Okay, question number 1 out of 5,000:

    I'm starting with a blank template. Here's my dilemma:
    Should I strive to have just 1 template, or is it better to have several?

    The reason I ask is I mainly build 3 types of building:
    Lube Center, which has an upstairs and a basement
    Dry Cleaner, just one level
    Car Wash, just one level but with a trough that runs the length of the tunnel.

    One template for each? Or I suppose I could take the hardest (lube center) and just delete the levels if I'm doing another building?

Similar Threads

  1. Consultant Links in the template: Best Practices
    By Gordon Price in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: October 22nd, 2018, 05:42 PM
  2. Revitforum Template - Doors
    By mdradvies in forum Nederlands forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: August 30th, 2011, 08:43 AM
  3. View Template Best Practice
    By Gordon Price in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 21st, 2011, 11:18 AM
  4. Update template to RST2012 problems
    By jh75 in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 17th, 2011, 03:40 AM
  5. What is the Window-Curtain Wall template used for?
    By t1shep in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 3rd, 2011, 10:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •