Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Drag & Select limited to non-hosted objects

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    December 12, 2012
    Posts
    3
    Current Local Time
    03:50 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Drag & Select limited to non-hosted objects

    I'm working on the HVAC side of an MEP project in Revit. Lately (and not of my own doing) I've noticed that elbows and equipment have become greyed out independently of the visibility graphics settings- I managed to fix this by altering the Halftone/Underlay settings under Manage/Additional Settings. Unfortunately, however, everything that was greyed also shows a new behavior in that I cant select them by drawing a box over them...

    ...so I can drag a selecting box out around a run of duct, and it will select the ductwork, but not the elbows or any fans that I have associated with the run. These can only be selected by clicking on them individually. The only commonality I've been able to deduce about all the non-selectable pieces is that they're hosted objects, whereas ducts or pipes work off of a reference level.

    Any ideas? This is making some revision work I'm doing incredibly tedious...

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    March 20, 2012
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    224
    Current Local Time
    01:50 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Are the greyed out objects maybe on a different workset or design option? I'll occasionally find a strangely behaving duct fitting, and find that it was created by trimming 2 sections of duct/pipe that were on a different workset than the current workset.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    December 12, 2012
    Posts
    3
    Current Local Time
    03:50 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I only discovered design options this morning, and after this problem arose- I've used it to make the architectural backgrounds un-selectable... in this case, I can still select the elements by clicking on them, I just can't make a group selection by dragging my mouse.

    I double checked: my ducts, elbows and grilles are in the mechanical workset, and my fans/equipment are in the mechanical-electrical set.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    December 12, 2012
    Posts
    3
    Current Local Time
    03:50 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    In addition: I can copy a run of pipe or duct from the job that I described, paste it into a new job and the fittings can be selected by a dragging out a box. The answer lies somewhere in the project settings...

Similar Threads

  1. Hosted objects in groups
    By cellophane in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 16th, 2012, 05:45 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 18th, 2012, 01:45 AM
  3. Hosted Exchange Service?
    By cellophane in forum Out There
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: March 6th, 2012, 06:09 PM
  4. What Revit Wants: Press and Drag = 0
    By luke.johnson in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 19th, 2012, 04:45 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 15th, 2011, 01:45 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •