Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Inventor Fusion?

  1. #1
    Member Chadwick17's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    321
    Current Local Time
    01:15 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Inventor Fusion?

    Anyone know what Inventor Fusion is and why would I use it? Saw that it came with the AutoCAD Arch installation and I'm not sure why.

  2. #2
    Member JeffreyMcGrew's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 10, 2010
    Location
    Oakland, ca
    Posts
    305
    Current Local Time
    01:15 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Chadwick17 View Post
    Anyone know what Inventor Fusion is and why would I use it? Saw that it came with the AutoCAD Arch installation and I'm not sure why.
    Inventor Fusion is kinda like a marriage between an easy-to-use fast tool like Sketchup and a 'heavier' solid MCAD style modeler like Inventor Suite.

    It's kind of the solid modeling companion to Sketchbook Pro, which is also included.

    We've worked a little bit with it and it's a neat little tool for modeling up ideas quickly once you get used to it. It's good for some industrial design stuff and some early design stuff.

    You could also use it more towards the end of the project if you needed to make solid models of something that's a pain to do in Revit, like custom spider fittings for glass or something along those lines.

    We haven't used it much, however, for we just turn to Revit for 90% of what we do, and the 10% we don't do in Revit we do in Blender instead most of the time. However, if we were designing more mechanical things or things that were going to be fabricated using a different process than what we do now I could see us using it more.

  3. #3
    Member Chadwick17's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    321
    Current Local Time
    01:15 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks Jeffrey. I'll have to give it a go when I get some free time. Did you say Sketchbook Pro is included as well? I didn't see that one...

  4. #4
    Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 5, 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    666
    Current Local Time
    12:15 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Member JeffreyMcGrew's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 10, 2010
    Location
    Oakland, ca
    Posts
    305
    Current Local Time
    01:15 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Chadwick17 View Post
    Thanks Jeffrey. I'll have to give it a go when I get some free time. Did you say Sketchbook Pro is included as well? I didn't see that one...
    When I was looking at the Suites, I thought that Sketchbook Pro was included in all of them, but I could totally be wrong there.

    Sketchbook Pro is a great tool. It's something I totally didn't think I needed ("I've got Photoshop, why do I need this little drawing tool?!?") but once I started using it I find I use it all the time now.

  6. #6
    Member Chadwick17's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO
    Posts
    321
    Current Local Time
    01:15 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Yeah, I love Sketchbook Pro. I got it once I got a large Intuos digitizer - and I mostly use it for sketching/drawing in my free time. Even got the Android app of the same name.

    If the entire office had access to it though - that would be sweet.

  7. #7
    Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 5, 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    666
    Current Local Time
    12:15 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Chadwick17 View Post
    Yeah, I love Sketchbook Pro. I got it once I got a large Intuos digitizer - and I mostly use it for sketching/drawing in my free time. Even got the Android app of the same name.

    If the entire office had access to it though - that would be sweet.
    Sketchbook and Showcase both come with all versions of the new Building Design Suite. So yes, if you change your licensing over to a new Suite, you will get them. If you are on the Revit Suite from last year, you can switch to the Premium level of the Suite and you will also get ALL the Revit's and 3DS Max as well.

    That would be suite.... :-)

    More info at www.Autodesk.com/suites

  8. #8
    Administrator Munkholm's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Kingdom of Denmark
    Posts
    4,253
    Current Local Time
    09:15 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott D Davis View Post
    Sketchbook and Showcase both come with all versions of the new Building Design Suite. So yes, if you change your licensing over to a new Suite, you will get them. If you are on the Revit Suite from last year, you can switch to the Premium level of the Suite and you will also get ALL the Revit's and 3DS Max as well.

    That would be suite.... :-)

    More info at www.Autodesk.com/suites
    Agreed! The Suites sure sounds Sweet - Can┤t wait to get the prize tag from my new "local" reseller

  9. #9
    Member ptranberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 8, 2011
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    66
    Current Local Time
    10:15 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Munkholm View Post
    Can┤t wait to get the prize tag from my new "local" reseller
    Did you abandon us??

  10. #10
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,236
    Current Local Time
    03:15 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Munkholm View Post
    Agreed! The Suites sure sounds Sweet - Can┤t wait to get the prize tag from my new "local" reseller
    Quote Originally Posted by ptranberg View Post
    Did you abandon us??
    OOPS!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •