Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Beam don't lie with columns, why?

  1. #1
    Forum Addict Andres Franco's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 21, 2012
    Location
    Tours, France
    Posts
    1,122
    Current Local Time
    09:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Beam don't lie with columns, why?

    Hi there, I got an issue with columns and beams that drive's me crazy , I'm modeling a steel structure for my project in Revit 2013, but when I try to put my beams these don't lie with the columns, anybody knows why?, I modeled up a couple of beams out of the line of my column and all is ok, but when I change the place of the column and moves near the column the beams automatically changes the dimension the beam see attached image please, any suggestion will be truly appreciated, tnx in advance.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	estructura.png 
Views:	41 
Size:	129.4 KB 
ID:	11680
    Last edited by Andres Franco; March 8th, 2013 at 07:53 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator LeanneZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    800
    Current Local Time
    03:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I'm trying to understand your question; I'm also trying to recreate your issue to help me understand what the issue is. I'm still not sure I follow.

    In your attached photo, I see you have temporarily hidden some elements. Did you hide column grid lines? They can help you align your beam centerline to the correct place. Or, you can try drawing the centerline of your beam from column to column. Revit is pretty good at automatically snapping to the centers of the columns.

    Or, did you ~want~ an offset on your beam?

  3. #3
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,576
    Current Local Time
    12:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Go into the Manage Tab in Revit Structure 2013 and find the Structural Setting button. In that windows find Beam Cutback or Beam Offset. Set this to 0"

  4. #4
    Forum Addict Andres Franco's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 21, 2012
    Location
    Tours, France
    Posts
    1,122
    Current Local Time
    09:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hi Alex, tnx a lot!!!!

  5. #5
    Forum Addict Andres Franco's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 21, 2012
    Location
    Tours, France
    Posts
    1,122
    Current Local Time
    09:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hi Alex in addition to your comment I like to say that the reference planes or the work planes are another reason for this behavior within the structural elements when I edited the family and changed the work planes, and after your suggestion the structure works perfect, that's all, best regards.

Similar Threads

  1. Hanger Columns
    By kev4174 in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: August 9th, 2013, 08:26 AM
  2. Architectural Columns
    By cellophane in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 7th, 2012, 10:01 PM
  3. Beams & columns
    By narlee in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 22nd, 2012, 08:10 PM
  4. Slabs at Columns
    By gdoherty0102 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: October 25th, 2011, 08:00 PM
  5. Schedule Columns
    By dzatto in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: January 25th, 2011, 06:21 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •