Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Floors eating the beams

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    March 18, 2013
    Posts
    11
    Current Local Time
    03:22 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Floors eating the beams

    Hello group

    I am from Peru and at the office I work we have encountered a big problem.

    We bought revit some years ago and the program is GREAT but

    The thing is that when we create beams, the revit wont cut the floors as it have to be.

    I know I have bad english, so I am making pictures to make me more clearer.

    When we make floors and beams in revit, by default in revit looks like this:

    image 1
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1 vigas atravesadas.JPG 
Views:	26 
Size:	54.0 KB 
ID:	12510

    >That would be a problem when we calculate the volume of concrete separatately (floors and beams).

    So we use the comand "JOIN" but it looks like this:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2 viga atravesada por muro.JPG 
Views:	22 
Size:	38.1 KB 
ID:	12511

    That is terribly wrong, cause the constructive system we use at my country is not like that, we need that when we join beams and floors, the floors gets cutted and the beams stay.

    like this image:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3 vigas separadas como tiene que ser.JPG 
Views:	23 
Size:	56.3 KB 
ID:	12512

    I dont know if that is possible. I know that we can make each floor between the beams, but that terribly complicated, cause the beams keep changing a lot.

    this is really important to us, is there a way to make the beams more important than the floors, so when we join the floors dissapear? is there a plugin?

    thanks a lot!

  2. #2
    Senior Member alexo4141's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 25, 2011
    Location
    Qubec, Canada
    Posts
    548
    Current Local Time
    04:22 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Are you using Revit 2014? They added a functionnality to control the join order.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,575
    Current Local Time
    12:22 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Very good question. I would love to know how to do this as well.

  4. #4
    Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 5, 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    666
    Current Local Time
    12:22 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    yes, this was an enhancement of Revit 2014, and in fact the whats new document shows your example of beams and a floor. Looks like its under the Join Geometry button.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	5-16-2013 12-11-13 PM.png 
Views:	61 
Size:	397.2 KB 
ID:	12513

  5. #5
    R.I.P. MPwuzhere's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    4,864
    Current Local Time
    12:22 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hate it when beams show up on my floor plans.....

  6. #6

  7. #7
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,575
    Current Local Time
    12:22 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott D Davis View Post
    yes, this was an enhancement of Revit 2014, and in fact the whats new document shows your example of beams and a floor. Looks like its under the Join Geometry button.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	5-16-2013 12-11-13 PM.png 
Views:	61 
Size:	397.2 KB 
ID:	12513
    Why didnt you tell the dev people to do this years ago dude!! I expect more from you.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    March 18, 2013
    Posts
    11
    Current Local Time
    03:22 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    OMG, thanks a lot for the rapid answers!

    SO it seems that I need REVIT 2014. I'll talk with the bosses. =)

  9. #9
    Member AHutchinson's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 19, 2011
    Location
    Spokane, WA
    Posts
    232
    Current Local Time
    12:22 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Michael, by the look of that picture, there aren't solid lines shown along the beam edges, so there wouldn't be any solid lines on the floor plans. Scott, or anyone else who has 14, can you correct me if I'm wrong?

  10. #10
    Senior Member Alex Page's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    697
    Current Local Time
    09:22 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by AHutchinson View Post
    Michael, by the look of that picture, there aren't solid lines shown along the beam edges, so there wouldn't be any solid lines on the floor plans. Scott, or anyone else who has 14, can you correct me if I'm wrong?
    If they are different "concrete" materials it will work:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	beams.PNG 
Views:	16 
Size:	12.6 KB 
ID:	12522
    Last edited by Alex Page; May 17th, 2013 at 06:11 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. joining concrete beams and floors
    By Gumrah in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 14th, 2013, 04:26 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 12th, 2012, 08:45 AM
  3. Beams NOT snapping to beams at same elev. but with different ref. plane
    By sebaldsl in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 2nd, 2012, 02:01 PM
  4. Associate Concrete Beams & Floors
    By cbaze in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: October 15th, 2011, 01:38 AM
  5. Floors with different levels
    By n8wex in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 16th, 2011, 08:00 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •