Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Trick to get environmental reflections

  1. #1
    Member truevis's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 7, 2011
    Posts
    112
    Current Local Time
    09:49 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Trick to get environmental reflections

    Remember in pre-Revit 2009 with AccuRender, we could put in spherical backgrounds and glass would reflect the background?

    I found a trick to get context-appropriate reflections on glass with mental ray rendering.

    Get your image that you want to reflect. (Maybe a Google Maps street view screen capture.) Put that image on a Decal and slap it upon a wall that is opposite of your glass. The Decal will reflect into your rendering.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	reflections.PNG 
Views:	431 
Size:	33.0 KB 
ID:	1706

  2. #2
    Member Mike Ferrell's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    60
    Current Local Time
    09:49 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    That is one cool tip! Thanks for that.

  3. #3
    Moderator mark b's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    1,436
    Current Local Time
    11:49 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Sweeeeeeeeeeeet .........

  4. #4
    Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 5, 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    713
    Current Local Time
    06:49 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Moderator
    "Mark Twain"
    mdradvies's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Location
    Boxtel, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,564
    Current Local Time
    01:49 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    ok, does this work for Domes too? I have some of these Dome shaped environment pictures for rendering. I created a Dome using the massing tool, applied a wall, but I can't seem to be able to place a Decal on this.

  6. #6
    Administrator Munkholm's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Kingdom of Denmark
    Posts
    4,279
    Current Local Time
    03:49 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Ive used it with domes in the past... but not with a decal - used a custom material with the "dome" environment added to the actual dome.

  7. #7
    Spanish Moderator JCM's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 17, 2010
    Location
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    Posts
    571
    Current Local Time
    09:49 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If you use a wall with a material with full transparency and a decal with a cutout applied you can have a background rig setup so that you hide the horizon line with a row of trees for example and your dome could have a real sky texture applied to it.

  8. #8
    Administrator Munkholm's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Kingdom of Denmark
    Posts
    4,279
    Current Local Time
    03:49 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just tried to recreate the Dome trick, but cant for the life of me get the custom material to behave on the dome shape

    And BTW, be careful with placing the Decal on a wall - At least if you are doing quantity takeoffs too Instead you could create an in-place extrusion in a category that you do not use for anything else. e.g. "Nurse Call Devises" or something like that, which are rarely scheduled in architectural projects.

  9. #9
    Moderator
    "Mark Twain"
    mdradvies's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Location
    Boxtel, Netherlands
    Posts
    4,564
    Current Local Time
    01:49 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Munkholm View Post
    Just tried to recreate the Dome trick, but cant for the life of me get the custom material to behave on the dome shape

    And BTW, be careful with placing the Decal on a wall - At least if you are doing quantity takeoffs too Instead you could create an in-place extrusion in a category that you do not use for anything else. e.g. "Nurse Call Devises" or something like that, which are rarely scheduled in architectural projects.
    I usually do my rendering in an added Phase. In this Phase I also place the RPC's and other rendering stuff so it doesn't get in the way during the modelling work and on my Sheets.

  10. #10
    Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 5, 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    713
    Current Local Time
    06:49 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott D Davis View Post
    I've added credit for this tip back to this post by Truevis on the WikiHelp.

Similar Threads

  1. Another Shortcut Trick
    By mark b in forum Tutorials, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: January 12th, 2016, 01:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •