Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Visability Parameters and this Family

  1. #1
    Senior Member domsib's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 30, 2012
    Posts
    586
    Current Local Time
    01:54 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Visability Parameters and this Family

    I have created my own annotation symbol for a retractable switch and loaded it into Revits lighting switch family.

    I'm struggling with this family because when I load it into my project and change to retractable switch I want to see this new symbol. But my symbol continues to show up when I select a dimmer switch or key switch or any other switch.

    I guess I need to use a visability parameter so it shows only when needed but how do I do this?

    There appears to be 7 visability parameters already for the 7 annotation symbols and I'd like to add mine as number 8 so it works in the same fashion.

    I don't know the first thing about visability parameters yet so i'm hoping someone can help me out.

    Thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Moderator cellophane's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    6,389
    Current Local Time
    09:54 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Pick the object you want to adjust visibility for. In the properties palette there will be a box for Visible - to the right of that is a little box you can click (not the checkbox). Click it and add a new visibility parameter for your new part. I would then go through the types and make sure that it isn't showing up on any of the others. Then save & load into your project.

    I would also recommend naming the visibility parameters something more logical than Visibility 1. Call them what they are: Switch Visibility, Outlet Visibility, Dimmer Visibility etc. Makes editing the family a lot easier.

  3. #3
    Senior Member domsib's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 30, 2012
    Posts
    586
    Current Local Time
    01:54 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Cellophane. I've added a visability parameter as you said and my symbol is showing up in all the other symbols. How do I stop this now?

    Also is there a way to only view one annotation at a time in the family because they are all on top of each other at the moment/

  4. #4
    Moderator cellophane's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    6,389
    Current Local Time
    09:54 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    edit the type and turn off the new visibility. each type should only have one annotation visible (checked)

  5. #5
    Senior Member domsib's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 30, 2012
    Posts
    586
    Current Local Time
    01:54 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by cellophane View Post
    edit the type and turn off the new visibility. each type should only have one annotation visible (checked)
    Clicking the annotation and clicking edit type brings up the type properties and I only have 2 parameters in here. Leader Arrowhead and Label. None of those visability 1-8 parameters from earlier.

  6. #6
    Moderator cellophane's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    6,389
    Current Local Time
    09:54 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by domsib View Post
    Clicking the annotation and clicking edit type brings up the type properties and I only have 2 parameters in here. Leader Arrowhead and Label. None of those visability 1-8 parameters from earlier.
    edit the family type, not the annotation.

  7. #7
    Senior Member domsib's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 30, 2012
    Posts
    586
    Current Local Time
    01:54 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by cellophane View Post
    edit the family type, not the annotation.

  8. #8
    Forum Addict josephpeel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 3, 2012
    Posts
    1,405
    Current Local Time
    02:54 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If you have more than about 5 symbols in one family I recomend using a Label parameter instead of loads of visibility parameters. This gives a nice drop down menu and you cant accidentaly turn on two symbols at the same time.

    Make a new Type parameter with Generic->Family Type->Generic annotation.
    Set this parameter to the default symbol.
    Place only the default symbol in the correct position.
    Select the generic annotation and change the parameter Label to the Type parameter you made.

    Now if you go to edit type you can choose all the generic annotations that exist in the family from a list, using just the one Symbol parameter. When adding new symbols you dont need to place them and make new visibility parameters, just load them in the family and they appear in the list.

Similar Threads

  1. parameters for family vs family type
    By jgu in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 11th, 2012, 10:18 PM
  2. Family Type parameters
    By chalex in forum Structure - Family Creation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 6th, 2012, 04:07 PM
  3. Family Parameters
    By rboaz in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: September 16th, 2011, 06:05 PM
  4. Family Type Parameters and "Export Family Types" functionality...
    By Twiceroadsfool in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: September 7th, 2011, 07:05 AM
  5. Family Parameters : Void
    By Scott Deslippe in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 5th, 2011, 06:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •