Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: How to create a walkthrough

  1. #1
    Senior Member domsib's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 30, 2012
    Posts
    586
    Current Local Time
    08:55 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    How to create a walkthrough

    I have been working on a project which has involved adding a lot of ductwork routes around a warehouse with a lot of structural services to navigate through. The warehouse covers a few floors and has a lot of different rooms set off the main production space.

    Anyway my boss at my company has expressed an interest in seeing how this project is looking as it is one of our first in Revit and he wants to see how I am getting on with Revit.

    So I thought it would be a good idea to show him a walkthrough, basically starting at the plantroom/boilerhouse and taking a walk along the corridors looking at the services at high level and then into the production areas.

    The only problem is I don't know the first thing about walkthroughs and how I do this.

    I do however have Navisworks which I hear is useful, but can anyone give me a quick run through on what I need do to in order to create a little walkthrough to show him.

    Is this a massive task and thats going to need lots of experience with rendering etc or can I knock a decent one together just using the software I have.

  2. #2
    Forum Addict Andres Franco's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 21, 2012
    Location
    Tours, France
    Posts
    1,104
    Current Local Time
    09:55 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hi domsib, first of all you must be located in a plan view, then you must go to View, 3D View, Walk-through, then you must choose the points you walk though should go by simply click on the place you decide, Revit shows you a couple of blue lines representing the camera path, you can made some changes after placing the points that represent your camera path son it's not a big deal if you do some mistakes, after place you points and decides your path is ok, you must click on Finish walk-though.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	11.PNG 
Views:	23 
Size:	34.7 KB 
ID:	14595Click image for larger version. 

Name:	12.PNG 
Views:	18 
Size:	83.4 KB 
ID:	14596Click image for larger version. 

Name:	13.PNG 
Views:	22 
Size:	148.5 KB 
ID:	14597

    you can choose the level you want to put the path, the height for the camera, and so on, even if you want to change some aspects you can do that simply by clicking in the edit walk-through button, hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    July 4, 2013
    Posts
    179
    Current Local Time
    01:55 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You will need lots of render time if you plan on doing it rendered. Bang for buck, realistic or hidden line style is the way to go if time and money is critical. When setting it up, don't try to do the whole walkthrough of the building in one go. Do "scenes" or "shots" for each feature or room, then stitch them all together in a presentation with Windows Movie Maker. In WMM you can add music, annotations, and transitions You will want to do it all in one go, but you will need to reduce the amount of frames, unless you've got weeks to render. Edit out as many frames as possible by cutting out any boring material. I've got a trick to open doors, but it is easier to just edit out walking through doors. I usually set each scene to be 100 frames, because that's how many frames my i7 quad core can render in a night. It also allows me to set up all the machines in the office to render a different range of frames, so next day I've got 400 frames from 4 machines.

    When setting the camera, open two windows side by side, one plan view, one looking through the walkthrough camera. In plan view, hover over the walkthrough view in the project browser and right click > 'show camera' to get it to show up in plan.

  4. #4
    Senior Member JBZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 17, 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    677
    Current Local Time
    12:55 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by domsib View Post
    ...The only problem is I don't know the first thing about walkthroughs and how I do this...
    Is this a massive task and thats going to need lots of experience with rendering etc or can I knock a decent one together just using the software I have.
    Yes, it's a somewhat massive task.
    I find the best results are when one thinks like a movie producer (which is what one becomes)...
    1) Break the walk-thru's into shorter pieces (3 to 5 seconds each) -remember at 30 FPS that is still 90 to 150 seperate full renderings that Revit must produce and if set to shaded or realistic modes, that can be hours just for each 'cut'.
    2) Assemble the cuts in a movie software, such as Final Cut or Windows Movie Maker. -I render to individual images (each frame) that way I can also get still shots wherever I want for no additional 'cost'.

  5. #5
    Autodesk Scott D Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 5, 2011
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    673
    Current Local Time
    12:55 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by domsib View Post
    I do however have Navisworks which I hear is useful,
    Im my opinion, Navisworks or Showcase is the better choice. Do you really want a "walkthrough" that is on a fixed path, looks at what you point the camera at, that isn;t easily changed without alot of time, or would it be better to show your boss a "live" 3D model that is more like a video game that you can "walk him through", or better yet, you can let him walk through? this way, you or your boss are in control, and can walk around any portion of the building and stop and look at anything you want.

    Another alternative is a 3D DWF, which can be viewed for free in Design Review, Autodesk 360, or Autodesk Freewheel by you or your boss, or anyone else that you want to share it with.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    "OMG I killed Revit"
    dzatto's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 9, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,245
    Current Local Time
    02:55 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If you do the DWF, you need to export a camera view, not just the default 3D view. Any camera view will do. The camera view is what lets you go inside the building. The default 3D view will just run you into the wall, and keep zooming in on that wall. You can't go through it.

    Also, take a look at Revizto. It's a plug in that's getting some pretty good reviews. Simple to use. And, there's a 30 day free trial.

  7. #7
    Senior Member domsib's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 30, 2012
    Posts
    586
    Current Local Time
    08:55 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I have given the Revit walkthrough a try out this morning. It was a little complicated at first but I got the hang of altering the camera scope and its view direction. I have a few questions:

    How do I walk a camera into a room, stop at that spot and look up towards the ceiling without taking the camera to that height. I would like to be walking height looking upwards at the ceiling but not the camera at ceiling height.

    With the first walkthrough I tried I set the FPS to 30 and found that this was a little too fast when converting to a Windows AVI file. I’ve now changed this to 15FPS and this is a lot slower (but suitable) when watching it. My walkthrough is only 20s econds long and this is taking around 5 minutes to give me an exported video with realistic visual style set.

    Also can I stay at a spot longer than the 15FPS then continue on at 15FPS for the remainder of the video because there is a bit of equipment I’d like the video to look at for a while before moving on?

    Scott D Davis – For the moment I just want to be able to send him a few video files to show him what I have done but I do like the ideaof a live model to scroll around. Only problem is I don’t understand the numerous different types of file extensions in Navisworks and what to do with each.

    Edit: Probably should note here that I wont require actual rendering for what I am going to use revit for, what I need is just a walkthrough with a good visual style set up that shows how I have modelled the ductwork services.
    Last edited by domsib; October 22nd, 2013 at 01:52 PM.

  8. #8
    Autodesk JeffH's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    The Ivory Tower (Manchester NH)
    Posts
    797
    Current Local Time
    03:55 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Glad to see you are making some headway with the Walkthrough tool in Revit.

    How do I walk a camera into a room, stop at that spot and look up towards the ceiling without taking the camera to that height. I would like to be walking height looking upwards at the ceiling but not the camera at ceiling height.

    You can't stop the camera dead in a Revit walkthrough. You can place 2 keyframes points on the path very close to one another to get close to a full stop. in order to "look up" you need to edit the camera in the walkthrough to have a different target location. If you edit the walkthrough you can set the control to adjust the camera and then navigate to that keyframe and change the target location of the camera. you may need to use a section or elevation view in order to point the camera up.

    Also can I stay at a spot longer than the 15FPS then continue on at 15FPS for the remainder of the video because there is a bit of equipment Id like the video to look at for a while before moving on?

    If you edit the walkthrough you can adjust the frames and in the dialog you can set an "accelerator" for a particular keyframe. This will allow you to essentially pause and "look at" something and then move on.
    Last edited by JeffH; October 22nd, 2013 at 02:30 PM.

  9. #9
    Senior Member domsib's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 30, 2012
    Posts
    586
    Current Local Time
    08:55 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    JeffH thanks for the reply. I've been playing around with the walkthrough now for a few hours and i'm getting used to it. One question I have is, once I have set my height for the camera, can I change this in a section view or anyway. I see how to adjust the view to what the camera is looking at, but don't know how to adjust the actual height(offset) of the camera once set.

  10. #10
    Moderator snowyweston's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    C.LONDON
    Posts
    4,435
    Current Local Time
    08:55 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by domsib View Post
    One question I have is, once I have set my height for the camera, can I change this in a section view or anyway.
    Yes, with the camera key frame selected you can tab+shift to another open window that is better suited to position it in the vertical - you can do it with elevation/section views, but I've found I prefer to do it in 3D views.

Similar Threads

  1. Is it possible? Render 1 walkthrough frame
    By Hilife in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 8th, 2013, 01:14 PM
  2. Structural Walkthrough Problem
    By Alexander_J_Hicks in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 31st, 2013, 03:27 PM
  3. walkthrough camera adjustments
    By cellophane in forum Rendering and Gallery
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 19th, 2012, 03:38 PM
  4. Walkthrough rendering quality & size
    By cellophane in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: December 8th, 2011, 10:27 PM
  5. Walkthrough Animations
    By CBukowski in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 28th, 2011, 03:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •