Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help Needed: Data Extraction From Revit

Current Local Time
    03:36 PM

Not allowed! Not allowed!

Question Help Needed: Data Extraction From Revit

Hello All,

I am very new to Revit and it's API functionalities. I am working on a project for which i need to extract the site boundaries, and building layout information from a Revit model. i.e. the x,y,z coordinates of the site boundary and the the building location. I am planning to use this information in developing a site layout planning model. As i am new to Revit and haven't used any of the functionalities, I have now clue on how to extract the required x,y,z coordinate information from a Revit model. I tried google, but not luck :-(.. Could anyone please help me with this? I would really appreciate any help with this, and i am in an urgent too... Thanks!!

Current Local Time
    05:36 PM

You need the SDK. Its included in your Revit distribution. There is a RevitAOI.hlp that is impotant but doesnt explain much. The examples that arew included in the SDK are a very good source of informition. And in version 2012 there is a great "Revit 2012 API Developer Guide.pdf". I like this dokument altough it is not complete yet. And very important - you need the building coder blog written by Jeremy Tammik(http://thebuildingcoder.typepad.com). If you combine this sources you have everything you need for a depp understanding of the API

"Mark Twain"
    Current Local Time

You could also use Excitech Toolkit. This is a free Addon. You'll need to create a point based family (Simple Generic Model Family will do). Draw a crosshair on the insertion point, place where needed, create a schedule of the Generic Model family and use the Excitech Toolkit to create and fill x, y and z-paramters. The schedule can be exported to a txt-file which can be imported in Excel.

Current Local Time