Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 2013 "failed to apply family parameters"

  1. #1
    Junior Member Arno's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 29, 2011
    Location
    Schoorl
    Posts
    45
    Current Local Time
    11:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Question 2013 "failed to apply family parameters"

    I have made a door familie (origine generic model).
    Now I want to make a curtain wall panel from it. So i copy the geometric to the curtain panel family. No problem so far.
    But when i try to add a parameter i get the following error: "failed to apply family parameters" (doesn't make a difference if it is shared or not)
    When i remove the geometrie there is no problem. But when i add the the geometrie again the parameter won't flex.
    Same error. Why isn;t this posible

    copy geo family - Arno_Screencast's library

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    August 19, 2011
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    513
    Current Local Time
    04:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Did you unlink parameters from the geometry you're copying to the curtain panel family? If you didn't, the geometry still believes it's being controlled by parameters that don't exist in your new family. That's why you're seeing that error.

  3. #3
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,719
    Current Local Time
    07:15 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Good call Andrew. I've mostly found that, although copy paste is tempting, biting the bullet and recreating geometry usually works best.

  4. #4
    Junior Member Arno's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 29, 2011
    Location
    Schoorl
    Posts
    45
    Current Local Time
    11:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Even if i delete all parameters it is still giving the error.
    We will remodel, hope autodesk will look into this.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    August 19, 2011
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    513
    Current Local Time
    04:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You don't have to delete the parameters themselves. Was any of the door geometry controlled by material parameters or visibility parameters? Normally dimension parameters don't get carried over if you copy/paste, but material and visibility usually stick. Click on your extrusions and see if any parameters are greyed out when they shouldn't be.

  6. #6
    R.I.P. MPwuzhere's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    4,864
    Current Local Time
    01:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Could help to post the family too....

Similar Threads

  1. What "categories" to put parameters in families?
    By iru69 in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: July 13th, 2017, 07:06 AM
  2. Door Family template - how to delete "pre defined" parameters (or change them)
    By Hilife in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 23rd, 2013, 05:48 PM
  3. Family Type Parameters and "Export Family Types" functionality...
    By Twiceroadsfool in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: September 7th, 2011, 08:05 AM
  4. "This product failed to uninstall."
    By Twiceroadsfool in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: May 18th, 2011, 05:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •