Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: No Centerline Mark if Dim'ing a linked model?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Posts
    20
    Current Local Time
    10:14 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    No Centerline Mark if Dim'ing a linked model?

    I'm dimensioning columns from a linked model and the centerline symbol or line type doesn't seem to work if columns are in a link. Is this correct and if so is there a workaround for this? The dim style does have this set and works it I place column in my model.

  2. #2
    BIM there, done that cliff collins's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    1,964
    Current Local Time
    12:14 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Not sure about the centerline problem with a linked model, but---from recent experience I'd offer a word of caution dimensioning to Linked files.
    If the link gets unloaded or moved (sometimes by accident ) the dimensions can get deleted.

    Would it be possible to Copy/Monitor the grids from the Link and dimension to those?

    Just a thought.

    cheers

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Posts
    20
    Current Local Time
    10:14 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I just did an unload reload and dims came back but I do appreciate the warning. I have a separate model that I'm doing just the annotation in. The reason is that I'm in a different location from the person modeling the building and this is how we are attempting to share the work since we can't do Revit Server yet. I understand that this isn't a great way of handling it but with tagging being upgraded in 2011 & 2012 it makes this an option for us. It seams that the improvements in tagging are being made so that annotation of linked models can be done in one file rather than custom viewing linked views especially for those breaking up the models into linked portions.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    "RFO 2012 Spelling Bee Champion"
    Alex Cunningham's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 8, 2010
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    3,576
    Current Local Time
    10:14 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Dimentioning to a linked model is not a best practice thing. You can get into trouble with not being able to even open your model because it cant delete dimentions. Cliff hit the nail on the head. Copy the elements into your model if you can. Also never associate elements to linked models, bad things can happen.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Posts
    20
    Current Local Time
    10:14 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I understand concerns about best practices and have been using Revit for many years not doing this BUT why are we (Autodesk) adding all the tagging functionality to linked models if we are afraid to dimension to it? There are folks who religiously link and are using custom view overrides for annotation but I believe Revit is trying to give us the option to annotate links and this includes dims. I'd like to know why the centerline doesn't show up when dimensioning to a link.

  6. #6
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,091
    Current Local Time
    12:14 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just because they are giving you the ability doesnt mean they have thought it through workflow wise. Cases in point:

    The Import CAD Button.
    The Explode CAD Button.
    Allowing Overridding dimensions.
    Right Click > Override.
    Allowing people to use View Templates AND VG in the same view.

    I could go on and on. Have they made improvements in tagging and links? Sort of. I still wont advocate using them. i present my project teams with the workflows for both, but at the end of the day i leave the decision up to them. I currently dont endorse tagging or annotating linked files anywhere BUT in the linked files, and using By Linked View. Workflow wise, it makes much more sense. When you dimension something, thats generally when you want to move or adjust it. Now you are in the wrong file. So unload the link, open the other file, REdimension it, move it, sync, switch files, etc. Or... Dimension it in the file its in, and move it at the same time.

    Having said that: Yes, i can confirm that the CL functionality goes away through links. Just one more reason that workflow stinks. Its unfortunate that geographical limitations are in your way, but IMVHO the workflow still "isnt there" for annotating through Links. Many people here may disagree with me, but i have finished many massive projects, on far inferior hardware, with the tried and true By Linked View workflow. Its not the most convenient, but it works damn well when done correctly.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Posts
    20
    Current Local Time
    10:14 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks to all and I'd love to make Revit Server work for us and we might be able to accomplish this but for now I need to keep heading in this direction. The project is a single story supermarket, new building, large open main sales area with some backroom storage, prep areas and front end admin. Not complicated but I need to be doing the CD's while the architect models the building. The use of CL symbol is required and so I'll use a symbol (can you say Autocad). One advantage - the model that is being shared by consultants (structural and MEP is all Revit) is 1/4 the size of the file needed for CD's - no sheets, no anno, no Autocad details (sorry but that is how they have set up the set) just a clean model. Myself, I have found that modeling dims and dims in CD just aren't the same. Working views with constraint dims based on how the designer wants the buidling to layout and separate sheet views.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    October 11, 2013
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    14
    Current Local Time
    01:14 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hi,
    I know this is an old thread, but has anyone been able to get the CL symbol to show up when dimensioning to a linked model?
    Cheers.

  9. #9
    Junior Member corinoco's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 6, 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    04:14 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by ashleye View Post
    Hi,
    I know this is an old thread, but has anyone been able to get the CL symbol to show up when dimensioning to a linked model?
    Cheers.
    Nearly TEN YEARS after the original post; and Linked Files are now The Way You Do Things - yet dims still don't recognise CL in links. If dims on links is bad m'kaaay, why even allow it in the first place? Why let us do half of what we need?

    The lame solution, as always, is to revert to old-school text-by-hand just to get your drawings looking right. Not even the vaunted Dynamo (Fix it yourself! By writing the software yourself!) can save you now.

    Thanks, Autodesk. Hope you're spending our subscription wisely by investing in the products you've locked us in to.

  10. #10
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,091
    Current Local Time
    12:14 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I must have missed the memo that Linked Files were "the way we do things" now. Whoops.

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Tag Linked Model name
    By Alex Page in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: August 28th, 2012, 02:30 PM
  2. Linked models vs a single multidisciplinary model
    By Eliot Black in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 17th, 2011, 05:38 PM
  3. Printing host model with linked model
    By IMCarter in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: May 11th, 2011, 01:00 AM
  4. Can't create ceiling when structural model is linked.
    By Andrew P in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 28th, 2011, 04:27 PM
  5. Linked Model Workflow
    By Chadwick17 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: January 13th, 2011, 07:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •