Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Topography visibility in plan views

  1. #1
    Member mona miller's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 31, 2013
    Posts
    185
    Current Local Time
    04:29 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Topography visibility in plan views

    I have underground basement level. How to make visible topography on my basement plan, so I can see the cut earth around my basement walls?
    The topography is checked in V/G! Don't know what am I doing wrong?
    Last edited by mona miller; June 25th, 2014 at 11:46 AM.

  2. #2
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,794
    Current Local Time
    02:29 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by mona miller View Post
    I have underground basement level. How to make visible topography on my basement plan, so I can see the cut earth around my basement walls?
    The topography is checked in V/G! Don't know what am I doing wrong?
    Adjust your view range higher so the topography is within your view range. The edit... button next to the view range parameter in the properties browser. However, topography doesn't have any thickness so I'm almost certain you won't see a cut surface like you do in elevation, so you may need to override the topography surface pattern to show your earth pattern, easily done with VG's or a view filter.

  3. #3
    Senior Member PijPiwo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 20, 2011
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    814
    Current Local Time
    11:29 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I don't think that can be done other than with filled region.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TOPO.JPG 
Views:	166 
Size:	29.0 KB 
ID:	17877  

  4. #4
    Member mona miller's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 31, 2013
    Posts
    185
    Current Local Time
    04:29 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    In my previous project, I could make this without problem (see the link: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...topography.jpg)
    On my current project can't accomplish same thing although I am doing exactly the same steps and procedure.
    Don't know why...

  5. #5
    Senior Member PijPiwo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 20, 2011
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    814
    Current Local Time
    11:29 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Aha, so you’re talking about contour lines, not cut earth pattern that you see in section or elevation views.
    Go to VV expand Topography and make sure primary and secondary contours subcategories are checked along with topo category.

  6. #6
    Revit Maestro Andre Carvalho's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    47
    Current Local Time
    12:29 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    No PijPiwo, I think the OP is talking about the earth pattern. My findings is that it works, but only when at least one of the topography points are below the view region cut plane. If the OP has a flat site and doesn't care about the shape of the topography she can add an extra topography point away from the others defining the site and then just crop the view. Makes sense?

  7. #7
    Senior Member PijPiwo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 20, 2011
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    814
    Current Local Time
    11:29 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Andre Carvalho View Post
    No PijPiwo, I think the OP is talking about the earth pattern.
    It could be.

    Quote Originally Posted by Andre Carvalho View Post
    My findings is that it works, but only when at least one of the topography points are below the view region cut plane.
    Yes, this is correct, but I'm still confused about OP question. Some pics will help.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    December 20, 2010
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    91
    Current Local Time
    04:29 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Screenshot would be helpful.

    My assumption would be that the material isn't set in the massing/site properties so that's why the cut pattern isn't showing up.

  9. #9
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,794
    Current Local Time
    02:29 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    As darryl added, you need to set the material in the massing site/properties dialogue. Whatever material you assign here must have a cut pattern assigned to it.

    After actually checking in Revit (lol), it seems what I said earlier is both correct and incorrect, you do need to adjust the view range and you also get to see cut topo surface patterns in plan views. In these images the topo low points are at -2000 and the high points are are +1000, and see the view range settings.


    standard 3d view
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.PNG 
Views:	65 
Size:	62.4 KB 
ID:	17890



    view cube > orient to view > plan...(then rotate view for this pic)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.PNG 
Views:	78 
Size:	57.8 KB 
ID:	17892



    plan view
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3.PNG 
Views:	149 
Size:	67.5 KB 
ID:	17893
    Last edited by elton williams; June 26th, 2014 at 05:29 AM.

  10. #10
    Member mona miller's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 31, 2013
    Posts
    185
    Current Local Time
    04:29 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Andre Carvalho View Post
    No PijPiwo, I think the OP is talking about the earth pattern. My findings is that it works, but only when at least one of the topography points are below the view region cut plane. If the OP has a flat site and doesn't care about the shape of the topography she can add an extra topography point away from the others defining the site and then just crop the view. Makes sense?
    Yes, you are absolutely right! I had to put point below cut plain in order to see cut pattern in my view!
    And now occur new problem that I already has constantly: maybe someone come up with a solution:
    I have pads on different levels (see pic). On my basement plan on the place of upper pads I see gap in earth cut pattern. I noticed this is happening all the time when the pad is above view plan! Any idea how o fix it without using Filled Region?

    pic:
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/72146861/pads1.jpg
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/72146861/pads2.jpg
    Last edited by mona miller; June 26th, 2014 at 09:28 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Topography Surface: Visibility Graphics + Section Cut question (Revit 2011)
    By itchiamg in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: August 29th, 2017, 12:19 PM
  2. Site topography visibility in 3D view
    By DesignApparatus in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: September 11th, 2013, 10:40 PM
  3. Rotate plan views not the views on the sheets
    By jh75 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 30th, 2013, 09:36 AM
  4. What Revit Wants: Topography edge visibility workaround
    By luke.johnson in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 8th, 2012, 04:15 AM
  5. Column visibility in plan view (totally same columns, different views)
    By bangobeat in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 27th, 2011, 08:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •