Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Text on two lines:

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    February 3, 2011
    Posts
    401
    Current Local Time
    01:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Text on two lines:

    Hello,

    I was wondering if anyone knows the trick for getting text to show up on two lines - but for a title block / sheet.

    Just in case this doesnĺt make any sense the trick I am referring to is the one where - through the properties pallet, on any given text parameter, you can hit ctrl+enter and the text will force down to two or more lines. I think you have to put the text right beside each other, like this:

    FloorPlan - which would look like:

    Floor
    Plan

    Seems to work with tags etc., but it does not work for sheets / title block families. Whenever I try the ctrl+enter trick it gives me this warning:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Text trick.JPG  

  2. #2
    Senior Member rkitect's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 21, 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    776
    Current Local Time
    12:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Typically I just create a shared parameter which allows me to put a top line and bottom line. I haven't tried this since 2009, but you can try typing the text, with the line return in an editor which shows the line return character (like Notepad++) and then copy/paste the line return character. I doubt this will work in 2011/12 but it may be worth a shot. You may also want to try Shift+Enter and Alt+Enter to see if you can get the line return to work.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    "I am NOT a Revit tutor!"
    Dave Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, California USA
    Posts
    4,543
    Current Local Time
    10:15 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Jj Mac View Post
    Hello,

    I was wondering if anyone knows the trick for getting text to show up on two lines - but for a title block / sheet.

    Just in case this doesn’t make any sense the trick I am referring to is the one where - through the properties pallet, on any given text parameter, you can hit ctrl+enter and the text will force down to two or more lines. I think you have to put the text right beside each other, like this:

    FloorPlan - which would look like:

    Floor
    Plan

    Seems to work with tags etc., but it does not work for sheets / title block families. Whenever I try the ctrl+enter trick it gives me this warning:
    have you tried Ctrl-M ?

  4. #4
    Member renogreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 27, 2011
    Location
    Reno, Nv. USA
    Posts
    335
    Current Local Time
    10:15 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    AFAIK Shift > Enter works with tags but not title blocks. We use a shared parameter for the second line.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    "I am NOT a Revit tutor!"
    Dave Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, California USA
    Posts
    4,543
    Current Local Time
    10:15 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by renogreen View Post
    AFAIK Shift > Enter works with tags but not title blocks. We use a shared parameter for the second line.
    Ctrl-M works mighty fine in titleblocks. See attached
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Ctrl-M.png  

  6. #6
    Moderator snowyweston's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    C.LONDON
    Posts
    4,427
    Current Local Time
    06:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Jones View Post
    Ctrl-M works mighty fine in titleblocks. See attached
    Thing is with that method though you're breaking the point of parameters somewhat by combining fields into the one, I mean, sure, it works, but would it not be easier to not use the carriage return "trick" and have SP fields for the contractor's address, phone number and such? Personally, I'm fond of exploiting the "Project Information" category in this way - but that might just be me.

  7. #7
    Member renogreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 27, 2011
    Location
    Reno, Nv. USA
    Posts
    335
    Current Local Time
    10:15 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I don't get how the Crtl>M works. I get nothing when I do it. Am I missing something?

  8. #8
    Administrator Gordon Price's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Rotterdam, South Holland
    Posts
    3,071
    Current Local Time
    07:15 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I have two Labels in mine. One is short, one is long, both use the same Parameter. Also both are bottom justified. Visibility is controlled by Type Parameter. So my 1 and 2 module view titles use the short version, and the text will stack up, the rest use the single line at 3 modules wide, as a title longer than that is just silly.

    Gordon

  9. #9
    Moderator
    "I am NOT a Revit tutor!"
    Dave Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, California USA
    Posts
    4,543
    Current Local Time
    10:15 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by renogreen View Post
    I don't get how the Crtl>M works. I get nothing when I do it. Am I missing something?
    no, it seems like it's not doing anything until you get done and there are carriage returns where you have done a Ctrl-M

  10. #10
    Moderator
    "I am NOT a Revit tutor!"
    Dave Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, California USA
    Posts
    4,543
    Current Local Time
    10:15 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by snowyweston View Post
    Thing is with that method though you're breaking the point of parameters somewhat by combining fields into the one, I mean, sure, it works, but would it not be easier to not use the carriage return "trick" and have SP fields for the contractor's address, phone number and such? Personally, I'm fond of exploiting the "Project Information" category in this way - but that might just be me.
    you may be right but from my perspective originally, when frankly I wasn't to keen on how to set up parameters, I thought that since I make a title block and add the information at the front end of a project, then work on that project for 6 months, it still doesn't seem to worth the trouble to use parameters and not Ctrl-M. Of course there's just me here so if I was somewhere where there were multiple people working on multiple projects then parameters would win hands down.

Similar Threads

  1. Revit and Text
    By Alex Cunningham in forum Tutorials, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: June 3rd, 2015, 08:10 AM
  2. text in schedules
    By redmonki in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: May 26th, 2011, 08:15 AM
  3. Text Leaders
    By Patrick in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: April 25th, 2011, 10:13 PM
  4. text background
    By jbenoit44 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: March 13th, 2011, 10:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •