Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Problmes worksharing on a Synology NAS

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    January 17, 2013
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    04:43 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Problmes worksharing on a Synology NAS

    Our file server is a Synology NAS (DS412) with 4 2TB drives in a high performance RAID configuration. We're a small office and rarely have more than one person working on a central file, but in the past month we've had a few sessions where 3-4 of us were working on the same central file. Each time, at least one of us got a dreaded error message stating that our local file was no longer compatible and could not be synced. When I ping the server, it says the latency is less than 1ms, though I didn't think to ping it in the thick of our sessions.

    My question is, is anyone here using a Synology as a file server and had to tweak settings, Revit, Synology, or maybe Windows, to avoid worksharing problems?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    "I am NOT a Revit tutor!"
    Dave Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, California USA
    Posts
    4,574
    Current Local Time
    12:43 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by buttonsrtoys View Post
    Our file server is a Synology NAS (DS412) with 4 2TB drives in a high performance RAID configuration. We're a small office and rarely have more than one person working on a central file, but in the past month we've had a few sessions where 3-4 of us were working on the same central file. Each time, at least one of us got a dreaded error message stating that our local file was no longer compatible and could not be synced. When I ping the server, it says the latency is less than 1ms, though I didn't think to ping it in the thick of our sessions.

    My question is, is anyone here using a Synology as a file server and had to tweak settings, Revit, Synology, or maybe Windows, to avoid worksharing problems?
    you might want to check out and get involved in this thread which has info that may be what you are looking for. Certainly people there that know what they are doing.

  3. #3
    Administrator Gordon Price's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Rotterdam, South Holland
    Posts
    3,076
    Current Local Time
    09:43 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Any chance one of your users might not be on gigabit networking? I used to see that kind of problem when one user dropped to 100 Mb/s. And I have seen some network hubs that drop one port to 100 Mb/s for some reason. Or a network card that does. If that person is working in a Revit central file the difference in performance seems to cause problems, or did some years ago when I dealt with it. And all the tests in the world on the server would never show the culprit. I am not even convinced that it is the user with the small pipe who sees the failure, just causes it for someone else. Yucky. Don't miss IT. Not one bit.
    BTW, the fast test I got used to was looking at the lights on the switch. There should be different colors for 100 vs 1000 Mb. Of course in the current millennium there is probably an iPhone app.

    Gordon

  4. #4
    Moderator snowyweston's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    C.LONDON
    Posts
    4,443
    Current Local Time
    08:43 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by buttonsrtoys View Post
    My question is, is anyone here using a Synology as a file server and had to tweak settings, Revit, Synology, or maybe Windows, to avoid worksharing problems?
    A little bit "Yes", but a bit more "No".

    I have one here at home, (albeit only a DS213j) and have central files on it - and so far it's given me no issues. I underlined "me" because, well, it's only ever me accessing said centrals - but if I can convince the flatmate to click a few buttons on my 2nd computer over the weekend I'll let you know how we get on over wireless-only speeds - which should at least enable you to rule out, (albeit unscientifically) connection speeds as an issue.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    January 17, 2013
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    04:43 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Gordon Price View Post
    Any chance one of your users might not be on gigabit networking?
    Gordon
    Thanks all for the quick responses. I should have mentioned, we're on a gigabit network.

    I'll read up on the link Dave forwarded and anything else I can find and report back if I discover anything.

  6. #6
    Member Markus's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 27, 2012
    Location
    Seattle, WA, United States of America
    Posts
    345
    Current Local Time
    12:43 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    We experienced a similar scenario: when a second person got in the model, worksharing stopped working. The issue related to SMB2 vs. SMB3 - the technology behind the Windows File System. In other words, you can't mix operating systems or systems using different SMBs.

  7. #7
    Administrator Gordon Price's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Rotterdam, South Holland
    Posts
    3,076
    Current Local Time
    09:43 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by buttonsrtoys View Post
    we're on a gigabit network.
    The thing that burned me was one CAT-5 cable from the wall to a computer, and maybe bad wall port too. As result that port was randomly dropping to 100B-T speeds and wreaking havoc. Thankfully I got out of the IT game before SMB revisions (& Windows Vista/7 print drivers)!

  8. #8
    R.I.P. MPwuzhere's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    4,864
    Current Local Time
    11:43 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I have had people that were accidentally hooked up to a 100mb port instead of a gigabit...that is a common slowdown...

  9. #9
    Moderator cellophane's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    6,387
    Current Local Time
    03:43 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by buttonsrtoys View Post
    My question is, is anyone here using a Synology as a file server and had to tweak settings, Revit, Synology, or maybe Windows, to avoid worksharing problems?
    We had a Synology and I never had any issues with it. I haven't had any Revit related issues with the current Buffalo system but I would trade it for a Synology in a heartbeat.

    I would look into the easy fixes first - swap your Cat-5 cables around and see if that makes a difference, then work your way towards the more difficult solutions. If you havent already - check out the Synology forums. They are pretty helpful in my experience.

Similar Threads

  1. Remote worksharing
    By log in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: June 22nd, 2014, 10:31 PM
  2. Worksets & Worksharing
    By domsib in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: March 13th, 2013, 09:28 PM
  3. Worksharing WAN solution
    By ag25 in forum Worksharing and Cloud Coordination
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 28th, 2013, 06:20 AM
  4. Worksharing Display
    By DaveP in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 9th, 2012, 01:01 PM
  5. 2012 Worksharing
    By gdoherty0102 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 21st, 2011, 05:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •