Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 27 of 27

Thread: Revit Cannot Import Sketchup file

  1. #21
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,889
    Current Local Time
    02:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Marcy, dont take this the wrong way... But your question doesnt make much sense at all.

    Sketchbook is a drawing program, for "sketching" on a tablet or computer.
    Sketchup is a conceptual modeling tool (and in my humble opinion, a lousy one).

    What "compatibility" are you talking about, with either? Ive used/use all three, but i cant see what you are getting at.

  2. #22
    Member BD Mackey's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 1, 2013
    Posts
    480
    Current Local Time
    01:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    As Aaron mentioned they really aren't comparable, if you are looking for an Autodesk program that is comparable to Sketchup then you need to look at Formit

  3. #23
    New Member Plans by Marcy's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 3, 2016
    Posts
    3
    Current Local Time
    03:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hello Twiceroadsfool,

    Thank you for getting back with me. I started using Revit about 1 1/2 years ago, so the program (given it's size & complexity) is relatively new to me. While watching some Revit tutorials, I saw the sketchbook (autodesk product) vs sketchup (google product) and was wondering if drawings generated from either/or could be loaded into Revit.

    Since my laptop doesn't have enough oomph to handle Revit. I was thinking I could download my job site notes into Revit from a sketching program and keep on keeping on once I got home without having to start from scratch, plugging in handwritten notes.

    The Sketch-up program looks easy enough to use. I did not look into Sketchbook any further than comparing prices, since I though it might be wise to ask someone familiar with the programs before I spent to much valuable time on something that may not prove useful. Thus my reason for asking about 'compatibility' with Revit.

    It appears that Sketchbook is considerably more expensive than Sketch-up. I was thinking the two programs were basically similar with the exception of manufacturers and perhaps the ability to use them with other programs. Thanks for the clarification between the two programs. I just joined this forum, so for some reason your message was in my spam box, thus the delay in response.

    Rest assured, your advice IS APPRECIATED. Take Care, Marcy

  4. #24
    New Member
    Join Date
    April 2, 2014
    Posts
    1
    Current Local Time
    02:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Converting to Sketchup 7 did the trick, I was able to import it.

    Yes, Sketchup is a terrible piece of software. However, our office used it for conceptual modelling, so I had to use it to "trace" my real Revit model on top of it. I can't wait to dump the Sketchup and obviously, the users should stop using Sketchup ASAP and use Formit.

    In the meantime, importing a Sketchup model is a blessing.

  5. #25
    Member J.Merlan's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 19, 2016
    Posts
    55
    Current Local Time
    12:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by samuelab View Post
    Converting to Sketchup 7 did the trick, I was able to import it.
    Thanks for posting an actual answer to this thread. It helped me out a lot today!

  6. #26
    New Member
    Join Date
    March 26, 2018
    Posts
    2
    Current Local Time
    12:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I figured it out.
    In your sketchup file-
    Save as - Save as type: Sketchup Version 3
    It's not perfect but should work.

  7. #27
    Member truevis's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 7, 2011
    Posts
    112
    Current Local Time
    03:00 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Revit can import SketchUp up to version 8. Exporting only faces from SU to DWG seems better, though, if you just want the geometry.

    PS: 3ds Max can import SketchUp files from version 6 through SketchUp 2014.

Similar Threads

  1. Problem in dwg file import Revit then export gbXML file
    By roczhu in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 2nd, 2012, 11:47 AM
  2. What Revit Wants: Sketchup Import app for AutoCAD
    By luke.johnson in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 19th, 2012, 10:45 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 15th, 2012, 12:15 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 24th, 2011, 10:30 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •