Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: how to switch out one material for another in the project

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    December 31, 2013
    Posts
    127
    Current Local Time
    02:04 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    how to switch out one material for another in the project

    Hey, is there a workflow to change one material project wide into another material, without going through family by family for instance we have two aluminum material in the project, and we want to consolidate them all as one, can i combine them under one material?

    thanks for the help

  2. #2
    Moderator cellophane's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    6,392
    Current Local Time
    09:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    As I understand it the Material API isn't very open and things that should be fairly simple like that are not currently possible

    Might be possible with Dynamo though.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    December 31, 2013
    Posts
    127
    Current Local Time
    02:04 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    so i shall assume it is not possible, and i should look forward to a mat swap fun party
    if anyone has a magical solution, you will be my hero, if not, sigh yey revit haha

  4. #4
    Autodesk JeffH's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    The Ivory Tower (Manchester NH)
    Posts
    808
    Current Local Time
    10:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If it is just the appearance it would not be super hard. You can assign the same appearance asset to multiple materials. But if you need them to change names to a new material there is no real great way to do it except through brute force.

  5. #5
    Member BD Mackey's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 1, 2013
    Posts
    480
    Current Local Time
    08:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If the family has shared parameters for material then you should be able to change them in a schedule (this reason is why my material parameters are usually shared). If not try creating a material take off schedule, sort by Material: Name and uncheck itemize every instance. Then click into a field in the schedule and switch to a model view, this should have all of the families of that material selected, then using the properties filter change to the different family types and change the appropriate property. I haven't tried this for this exact scenario but have used material take offs for similar things in the past.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    December 31, 2013
    Posts
    127
    Current Local Time
    02:04 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks I hope the schedule approach works, that would be the most comprehensive way

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    February 16, 2017
    Posts
    1
    Current Local Time
    02:04 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    If the material is not used in the project anywhere where you don't want to change it you could just duplicated the material, change the original material to what you want it to be then rename the duplicate to the original name (take away the '1' after the name). That is of course if you want to retain the original material in your library. Otherwise just overwrite the material.

  8. #8
    Junior Member PolynineStudio's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 25, 2017
    Posts
    32
    Current Local Time
    09:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

Similar Threads

  1. Material Update Automatically after loading into the project
    By sabari2504 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 2nd, 2014, 01:13 PM
  2. Dual switch
    By sethridge in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 4th, 2014, 12:01 PM
  3. Willing to switch
    By MPwuzhere in forum Hardware and Infrastructure
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: June 15th, 2013, 10:15 PM
  4. Switch System and Switch ID
    By Steven Thedens in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 10th, 2013, 07:06 PM
  5. How to change the material of imported dwg object in a project or family editor?
    By spotless in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 18th, 2011, 09:07 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •