Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Wall Area by Room Extrusions

  1. #1
    Senior Member amoursol's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 21, 2012
    Location
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Posts
    612
    Current Local Time
    08:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Wall Area by Room Extrusions

    Hello all,

    My next little play in Dynamo is about trying to pull a realistic 'Wall Area' out of Revit.

    The greyed out 'Area' parameter in Revit doesn't in fact portray the real area of the face of a wall as it simply runs based off the Location Line. This has obvious problems dependent on the wall join method, location line orientatioan (Such as Finish Face: Exterior vs. Core Centreline) etc.

    As such, assuming a correct model, I thought it safer to pull this information out of rooms.

    I've managed to get to a bit of a halfway point so far and was wondering on the thoughts of you guys.

    It's as shown below:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dynamo_Script_Wall_Area_By_Room1.JPG 
Views:	70 
Size:	123.4 KB 
ID:	20801
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dynamo_Script_Wall_Area_By_Room2.JPG 
Views:	36 
Size:	115.5 KB 
ID:	20802

    Next step would be to pull the room names into the list to allow a Write to Excel. It would also be useful to query wall intersections and project that information back onto the extruded room wall representation. I'm going to keep playing with it.

    Sol

    P.S Is there a way to attach non-images to threads in here or is it disallowed?

    EDIT: Going to use the greyed out parameter of Unbounded Height to get the height from.
    Last edited by amoursol; February 2nd, 2015 at 12:30 PM.

  2. #2
    Forum Addict josephpeel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 3, 2012
    Posts
    1,405
    Current Local Time
    08:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Ive been wondering if there is a good way to get wall (And external wall/window/door) areas from revit. If you go to the heating and cooling load functions you can see that revit knows what the area of each face is and if they are external or internal (It just doesnt want to give you the info in a usable way...). Maybe it is accessible via the API somehow.

  3. #3
    Senior Member amoursol's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 21, 2012
    Location
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Posts
    612
    Current Local Time
    08:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by josephpeel View Post
    Ive been wondering if there is a good way to get wall (And external wall/window/door) areas from revit. If you go to the heating and cooling load functions you can see that revit knows what the area of each face is and if they are external or internal (It just doesnt want to give you the info in a usable way...). Maybe it is accessible via the API somehow.
    I'll keep updating this thread with my progress - I guess the validity if the approach will go figure itself out. Might be a waste of time in the end but at least I'm learning!
    Last edited by amoursol; February 2nd, 2015 at 02:04 PM.

  4. #4
    Senior Member amoursol's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 21, 2012
    Location
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Posts
    612
    Current Local Time
    08:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I've switched up my process to use the room parameter of Unbounded Height to extrude the rooms by. It's used some rather clunky math to get there so I'm going to try and fix my process to make the node a little more robust.

    It is, however, a step in the right direction. Next level is to associate the room names back with the Area and put in a Write to Excel output.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dynamo_Room_Extrusion_Area4.JPG 
Views:	53 
Size:	108.6 KB 
ID:	20806
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dynamo_Room_Extrusion_Area5.JPG 
Views:	37 
Size:	146.8 KB 
ID:	20807
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dynamo_Room_Extrusion_Area6.JPG 
Views:	35 
Size:	162.2 KB 
ID:	20808
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dynamo_Room_Extrusion_Area7.JPG 
Views:	28 
Size:	117.8 KB 
ID:	20809

  5. #5
    Senior Member amoursol's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 21, 2012
    Location
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Posts
    612
    Current Local Time
    08:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by amoursol View Post
    t's used some rather clunky math to get there so I'm going to try and fix my process to make the node a little more robust.
    Thanks to the every helpful Andreas Dieckmann, the solution was so very simple. The image below showcases how one node can do it all:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dynamo_X_Function.JPG 
Views:	62 
Size:	97.5 KB 
ID:	20864

    A simple Function node strips out the number from the string.

    I'm currently working through how to write to excel with datasets that don't match in number and when done will post my results - Hopefully a fully functioning family.

    EDIT: Might help if I actually showcase the outputs of nodes... Oops.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dynamo_X_Function.JPG 
Views:	47 
Size:	103.5 KB 
ID:	20863  
    Last edited by amoursol; February 5th, 2015 at 10:40 AM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member amoursol's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 21, 2012
    Location
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Posts
    612
    Current Local Time
    08:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I've hit a little bit of a wall when trying to figure out list operations for rooms that don't contain the same amount of walls (have to input empty lists etc) so I've created a simple version that does appear to work. It's not perfect, but hey, I'm still learning!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dynamo_Simple_Room_Wall_Area1.JPG 
Views:	26 
Size:	127.8 KB 
ID:	20890Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dynamo_Simple_Room_Wall_Area2.JPG 
Views:	34 
Size:	121.7 KB 
ID:	20891

  7. #7
    Member ryntau's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 11, 2012
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    403
    Current Local Time
    01:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    couldnt you take the profile line of the room an multiply it by the wall height? Is there a way to connect the Room to the surrounding walls and derive the height data from that?

  8. #8
    Senior Member amoursol's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 21, 2012
    Location
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Posts
    612
    Current Local Time
    08:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by ryntau View Post
    couldnt you take the profile line of the room an multiply it by the wall height? Is there a way to connect the Room to the surrounding walls and derive the height data from that?
    Totally could - just need to figure out how to do it

  9. #9
    Senior Member amoursol's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 21, 2012
    Location
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Posts
    612
    Current Local Time
    08:04 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    And success! I have a fully working Dynamo Definition now!

    And I have the desired result! Thanks so much to all of you for your patience, kind words, advice and encouragement.
    It pulls rooms from a model, extrudes up their height based off the parameter of ‘Unbounded Height’, gets the areas of the resultant surfaces, fills in empty field values to create a list and then populates an excel spreadsheet with the room name, each wall area and the number of walls with a simply title at the top.
    On cloud nine right now! Something useful I’ve (finally) managed to get working in Dynamo. Totally coming around to the intricacies of how it works now. Big mountain to climb mind you, but getting there one step at a time.
    Below is the final Definition.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dynamo_Room_Extrusion_Win1.JPG 
Views:	99 
Size:	127.7 KB 
ID:	20930Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dynamo_Room_Extrusion_Win2.JPG 
Views:	101 
Size:	116.4 KB 
ID:	20931Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dynamo_Room_Extrusion_Win3.JPG 
Views:	111 
Size:	90.5 KB 
ID:	20932

    Hopefully someone finds this useful. There's still a rather large chance I've missed something in the workflow that's not pertinent to the particular model I tested it on (Albeit, the model is rather complex).

    Enjoy.
    Last edited by amoursol; February 11th, 2015 at 12:32 PM. Reason: Looked gammy

Similar Threads

  1. Room Area: Net AND Gross
    By jpeter78 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 6th, 2014, 08:03 PM
  2. Wall extrusions cutting everything
    By Lox in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 24th, 2014, 12:01 AM
  3. Room area & volume calculation
    By ikinks in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 18th, 2014, 08:46 PM
  4. Revit OpEd: Wall Openings and Room Area
    By Revit OpEd in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 24th, 2013, 05:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •