Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Grids, views and scope boxes

  1. #1
    Forum Addict Charles Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 6, 2011
    Location
    Fairbanks, Alaska
    Posts
    1,015
    Current Local Time
    02:10 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Grids, views and scope boxes

    This is what I am trying to accomplish:

    Overall plans, elevations, building sections - grid center segment set to none.
    Block plans, enlarged plans - grid center segment set to continuous.

    I am aware of the power of scope boxes, however, applying a grid to a scope box for one view is not appropriate for another that is not associated with that scope box.
    It would seem that I am back to manually dragging a 2d grid per view rather than using the power of the software. I know the answer is staring me in the face,...anyone?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    February 26, 2014
    Posts
    39
    Current Local Time
    06:10 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just a quick reply - other than (mis)using a design option, you'd have to fall back on manually dragging a 2D grid per view. Not elegant, but it'll do in a pinch.

    EDIT: If you do drag the 2D grid, you can propagate extents.

  3. #3
    Mr. Revit OpEd
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Posts
    3,172
    Current Local Time
    04:10 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Argh_chitect
    ...EDIT: If you do drag the 2D grid, you can propagate extents...
    As soon as a view's crop boundary is enabled Propagate Extents stops working for the affected elements...sorry.
    Last edited by Steve_Stafford; March 30th, 2015 at 06:45 PM.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    February 26, 2014
    Posts
    39
    Current Local Time
    06:10 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_Stafford View Post
    As soon as a view's crop boundary is enabled Propagate Extents stops working for the affect elements...sorry.

    If you add the grids to the scope box they don't... Perhaps I'm missing something?

    As is common with Revit, it seems like a small question begets a big answer, with possible holes in that answer. I'm going to outline the scenario I used, which is two sets of grids, the continuous and non-continuous in differing design options within a common set. The major set back to this method is the numbering of the grids, you'll have to use a custom parameter.

    1. I create REF PLANES, putting these in their own workset, to act as my construction geometry. It will make sure the two differing sets of grids have a common reference as the design progress and things get shifted.
    2. Create a Design Option Set for the Grids. Then two Design Options, one for continuous and the other for non-continuous grids.
    3. Create Scope Box
    4. Create Grids in their respective options.
    5. Assign Views and Grids to scope box, could be one or the other as well depending on how you intend to use.

    If I've got your intent right, this should work..

Similar Threads

  1. Managing Scope Boxes
    By Dandharma in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 22nd, 2015, 04:50 PM
  2. Scope boxes & Detail Views
    By Alecsx in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 25th, 2015, 11:23 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 22nd, 2014, 12:15 AM
  4. Grids, Scope boxes and Linked models
    By DaveP in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 4th, 2013, 09:22 PM
  5. Scope Boxes--yes, no other in between???
    By cliff collins in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: December 31st, 2012, 07:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •