Page 17 of 17 FirstFirst ... 71314151617
Results 161 to 170 of 170

Thread: How do you do your existing building surveys into Revit now?

  1. #161
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,071
    Current Local Time
    09:54 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks Kamran,

    There are some dealers in the UK offering trials as well I notice - not all the usual Disto resellers though - I must ask my usual one if he can tell me why.

  2. #162
    Member
    Join Date
    September 23, 2015
    Posts
    208
    Current Local Time
    03:54 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Geert View Post
    There is a new toy coming up from Leica which looks interesting.
    https://lasers.leica-geosystems.com/eu/fr/blk3d
    I wonder how acurate it is
    wow its been a year, but it is very accurate for as-builts and design verification. I just switched companies but I purchased one for our use and it did not disappoint.
    The onsite registration and Recap workflow are great.

  3. #163
    Member
    Join Date
    September 23, 2015
    Posts
    208
    Current Local Time
    03:54 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by willsud View Post
    I had a call and email from a nice man at Leica Geosystems in Italy who had seen this thread and wondered if I would like a test drive of a Disto BLK3D.

    I'd forgotten what this was so looked up the videos on it.

    https://lasers.leica-geosystems.com/uk/blk3d-overview

    Has anyone had a tryout of this device and would be prepared to give their thoughts?

    Thanks.
    I has the opportunity to chat with one of the reps when it was first announced. At the time I have bought the BLK360 lidar unit. The Disto BLK is more for taking measurements of items such as windows and doors on an facede, but not really intended for the generation of a floor plan.

  4. #164
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,071
    Current Local Time
    09:54 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks Profoxcg - that seems to be the intention for the 2 devices.

    I talked to a reseller in the UK who had reservations about the BLK360 scanner and Recap workflow. He mentioned the Leica Cyclone software for point cloud handling - I'm not sure if that is included or a separate purchase. Anyway, it seems he is liaising with a 3rd party software developer to produce a better software solution.

    Anyway, the BLK360 is out of my price range and I have my land surveyor do all my digital surveys now - just using the S910 mostly for small areas and checks during construction.

    By the way, I notice the latest Disto devices have some of the electronics in the base for fitting to a tripod instead of within the actual Disto - which is sort of logical I guess.

  5. #165
    New Member
    Join Date
    March 6, 2019
    Posts
    1
    Current Local Time
    09:54 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    We use point cloud in Revit and model over it - when we tested some auto-modelling software the result wasn't what we expected. We had to spent far too much time editing the model. However, I remember that some of them allow you to model a new family with pointcloud in the background which is very useful - I wish Autodesk would implement this in the next version of Revit too!
    And on the note of historic building, in few occasions the walls were so uneven i was using mass for fair part if the model which would never be achieved by auto-modelling software.

  6. #166
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,071
    Current Local Time
    09:54 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Welcome to the forum Magdalenka777

    This is what my local land surveyor also tells me. He has a laser scanner but we seldom make use of it because producing a building model based on the data is very slow and we prefer to use the 'traditional' output from a total station.

    I am sure this will change in time but who is going to pay for the software development?

  7. #167
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    August 3, 2017
    Posts
    33
    Current Local Time
    10:54 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    anyone had this? im taking measurements in dxf mode outside in the sun in malta (very hot) current condiotnins are 31deg c. then today i arrived at point 16, anf the disto stops taking measurements. it shows the hour glass that its trying to take a distance but never takes it and i have to press 'back' and tried quotes a few times on diffenent surfaces and with or without the camera. im thinking that it mught be because of the temeperature but did not get any errors on the disto. thoughts???

  8. #168
    Forum Addict willsud's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 13, 2010
    Location
    Ambleside, Lake District, UK
    Posts
    1,071
    Current Local Time
    09:54 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Memory not full within the Disto itself perhaps - or is that too simple?

  9. #169
    Member Geert's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 8, 2011
    Location
    Les Vigneaux, Hautes Alpes, France
    Posts
    179
    Current Local Time
    10:54 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I had mine (S910) malfunction once due to overheating. I used it mid day in full sunlight temperatures around 35C. Mid day is not the best moment anyway because of the (in)visibility of the red dot.

  10. #170
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    August 3, 2017
    Posts
    33
    Current Local Time
    10:54 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Sorry never updated you, the only thing I can attribute it to is overheating. The following day I used it normally with accurate measurements. Love the S910. Whatever the case is always more accurate than pen paper and LDM

    Sent from my Nokia 7 plus using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Completed Building transition to existing facility
    By rboaz in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 21st, 2020, 04:51 AM
  2. Surveys and existing buildings
    By stl4310 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: September 26th, 2015, 03:38 AM
  3. How to model existing building for multiple purposes as a living document.
    By jpeter78 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: November 5th, 2014, 02:05 PM
  4. Workflow - Modelling Existing Building
    By john.warburton in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: December 20th, 2012, 03:10 PM
  5. Building Coder: Revit and Navisworks API Wishlist Surveys
    By Building Coder in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 20th, 2012, 09:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •