Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Any way to de-activate automatic structural members connections?

  1. #1
    Member gpktm's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 22, 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    150
    Current Local Time
    10:34 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Angry Any way to de-activate automatic structural members connections?

    Hi everyone

    Is the any way to de-activate the annoying and useless auto-extension/trimming that revit does with structural framing and columns? Almost in every project is giving me a lot of frustration and 9 out of 10 times it won't do what I'm actually expecting it to do.

  2. #2
    Member Knitro87's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 3, 2014
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    297
    Current Local Time
    07:34 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You can modify a beam family by constraining the extrusion to these reference planes (see image below).

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	23 
Size:	57.9 KB 
ID:	25210

    Or you could just "select all" and change the start/end extension values to 0'-0".

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture2.JPG 
Views:	20 
Size:	56.0 KB 
ID:	25211

    If you want this done automatically, you might consider Dynamo as an option. Here's a pretty quick and simple script:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture3.png 
Views:	25 
Size:	41.0 KB 
ID:	25212

  3. #3
    Member gpktm's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 22, 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    150
    Current Local Time
    10:34 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Unfortunately "extension" settings do not work, at least not in my case. I have created a frame and made a group of all structural components, two of them are identical but one of them for some reason differs. When I extend the length in the one that's different, the other two are also effected and then are extended beyond the point I want. But this is just a specific example, my issue is autoextension and auto connections in general, many times Revit behaves by brining undesirable results or even updates automatically the connections when another member that effects the connection is changed. So I need a way to override that function if possible.

    Here's is another example. I had some base frames where the perimeter beam had mitre cut on each corner, after working on the rest of the framing, I suddenly realised that Revit broke the mitre connection on one of the base frames as you see in the picture (they one I've selected).
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2016-01-19_11-05-28.png 
Views:	21 
Size:	70.8 KB 
ID:	25217  

Similar Threads

  1. Activate Dimensions
    By Jj Mac in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: October 5th, 2018, 07:46 PM
  2. Activate Offset Box ?
    By mark b in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: September 12th, 2017, 04:34 PM
  3. Structural Framing members under (hidden) not showing hidden
    By maheshn in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 4th, 2014, 01:44 AM
  4. Structural Members and Masked Regions
    By dzatto in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: January 7th, 2011, 05:22 PM
  5. Structural Members
    By dzatto in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: December 22nd, 2010, 06:04 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •