Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Steel Tonnage Takeoff - Isolated Section

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    November 28, 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    154
    Current Local Time
    11:43 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Steel Tonnage Takeoff - Isolated Section

    Hello All

    I have already done a steel take off for my project.

    So what I need to do now is do a steel take off of just brick support framing we have added. I have placed the brick support framing on a separate workset hoping that this will work and also for visibility on plan.

    My first thought is that is to take the difference of of the total i did before and the total of the structure now but I can't use that method because we have made some modifications to the other parts of the structure.

    So that is my question, is there a way I can do a steel take off of certain parts (in my case, the fore mentioned brick support framing).

    Suggestions/comments?

  2. #2
    Member truevis's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 7, 2011
    Posts
    112
    Current Local Time
    11:43 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Can you simply make a schedule filtered by whatever you want, and calculate the totals?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    November 28, 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    154
    Current Local Time
    11:43 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    this is one solution that I came up with earlier today. I created a new phase and changed all the steel that I need to do the take off for to the new phase I created. I then created a duplicate take off of one I used for the whole building and added a parameter for the phase and voila, its working fine except the take off didn't include the all the steel plates I modelled in place.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Posts
    890
    Current Local Time
    01:43 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You want to do a MATERIAL VOLUME list.
    Then you can sort by material and have it seperate the changes with a blank line, also use the item in the list that says "material:volume" not the one that just says volume.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1.png   2.png   3.png  
    Last edited by Karalon10; July 15th, 2016 at 07:17 AM.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    March 21, 2011
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    290
    Current Local Time
    01:43 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    We have added a parameter to our framing and columns called “Zone” to be able to differentiate between different section of a building.
    It is not 100% as it still relies on human input though and with that comes human errors.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    March 21, 2011
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    290
    Current Local Time
    01:43 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    We have added a parameter to our framing and columns called Zone to be able to differentiate between different section of a building.
    It is not 100% as it still relies on human input though and with that comes human errors.

Similar Threads

  1. Revit Steel Tonnage
    By akaplan in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 14th, 2016, 03:50 PM
  2. Wall joins in isolated views
    By debbieg in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: February 19th, 2014, 03:58 PM
  3. Steel material tonnage in schedule
    By Clara2011 in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: March 7th, 2013, 06:40 PM
  4. Steel tonnage cautions
    By Alfredo Medina in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: September 28th, 2011, 07:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •