Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Save Settings Message

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    July 15, 2014
    Posts
    4
    Current Local Time
    03:46 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Save Settings Message

    How do I stop the Save Settings Message that pops up everytime I change the print settings. It says, "Do you want to save these settings for use in a future Revit Session?" The answer is ususally No.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Moderator snowyweston's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    C.LONDON
    Posts
    4,426
    Current Local Time
    08:46 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by KMiller View Post
    The answer is ususally No.
    But not always... and that's why A'desk felt it important to ask us each time.

    Sadly A'desk appear not to care about UX issues of this nature, hence why the only thing changed in the UI for some years is the sodding logo.
    Last edited by snowyweston; February 22nd, 2017 at 03:52 PM.

  3. #3
    Member philsogood's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 30, 2016
    Location
    Lyon - France
    Posts
    203
    Current Local Time
    09:46 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    damn, what a shame!! :/

  4.    #4
    Member philsogood's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 30, 2016
    Location
    Lyon - France
    Posts
    203
    Current Local Time
    09:46 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    and what about this **** windows which opens every time we're printing sheets "printing separate files"
    it makes me crazy....
    Phil

  5.    #5
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,616
    Current Local Time
    02:46 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by philsogood View Post
    and what about this **** windows which opens every time we're printing sheets "printing separate files"
    it makes me crazy....
    Phil
    That one has to do with your print driver, and not Revit. That window doesnt pop up for me, ever.

  6.    #6
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,446
    Current Local Time
    09:46 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thats why I started using Xrev Transmit a few years ago. No weird questions, no problem with different paper sizes etc. Best money I have ever spend, well not really, but you know what I mean

  7.    #7
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,616
    Current Local Time
    02:46 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I hear XRev Transmit is great, and i need to check it out one of these days.

    But even aside from that, the stock Bluebeam PDF driver can avoid those popups, and im 99% certain the Adobe one can. I know some of the free ones can, but i dont document how to do it in each PDF writer because typically every desk in AEC has EITHER the Adobe PDF writer, or the Bluebeam one (or, at least, my desks to).

    But hell, way back in 2007 when the Revit (Pinebush) PDF Writer 4.2 went away, even way back then, it was an hour to set up old ass Adobe Acrobat Distiller, and make PLT or PRN's, and STILL avoid that message.

    TLDR version: People will blame Revit for everything that is their own complacency's fault, all day long.

    Dont i wish Revit still had a native PDF writer? Every single day. But even if it did, the third party offerings are so much more badass that i wouldnt use the internal one even if they had it.

  8.    #8
    Senior Member PatrickGSR94's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2017
    Location
    Hernando, MS
    Posts
    534
    Current Local Time
    02:46 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    What popup are we talking about, the one that asks if we want to make separate PDF files for each sheet? That's a Revit message, and it has saved my butt many times, since 99.8% of the time we print single PDF files for full drawing sets. When we used to forget to change that setting to combine multiple sheets, then we would have to sit there for ages pressing Cancel for each and every sheet.

  9.    #9
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,616
    Current Local Time
    02:46 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I assumed they were talking about the "Save As" dialogue popping up for every sheet you selected to print, when you print multiple.

  10.    #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    June 14, 2011
    Location
    CT, USA
    Posts
    602
    Current Local Time
    03:46 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I try to have a handful of presets available for our various printing needs so that they can be selected from the list instead of having to be set each time I need them.

Similar Threads

  1. 'Save' Adds to File Size but 'Save As' Doesn't
    By mrgrotey in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: April 26th, 2016, 01:00 PM
  2. Rendering settings revert on save/sync
    By jmk in forum Rendering and Gallery
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 30th, 2015, 04:45 PM
  3. Can't Save - Message Open
    By LKeyser in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: July 29th, 2013, 03:04 PM
  4. Saving not allowed while message box is displayed - BUT - no message box is visible
    By Jj Mac in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 18th, 2013, 05:15 PM
  5. PrinterManager.Apply() do not save settings
    By EnDimeon in forum Third party Add-Ins, API and R&D
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 29th, 2012, 09:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •