Thread: Design Options - first time

Current Local Time
    03:36 PM

Not allowed! Not allowed!

Design Options - first time

I've been using Revit for many, many years. But, believe it or not, this will be the first time I've needed to use Design Options. I'm Structural, but I believe my questions are general enough to post here in the Arch and General subforum.

Outside Architect. So the Architectural model is linked to my Structural model.

We're looking at an exterior canopy. I've already modeled one canopy (hanging tube frame with rods back to the exterior wall.)
    Now I've learned that the Architect has used Design Options to model a larger canopy with supporting columns.

How do I match the Architect's D.O.? Is there an easy way to match, or copy/monitor? (I see he has some other D.O.s that may or may not be related to the canopy... I may, at some point need structure for those also.)
    How do I move the originally designed canopy to it's own D.O. so it won't show in the "Enlarged" D.O.?
    How do i go about annotating the separate D.O.s?

I'm sure I'll have more questions, but this will get me started.

Current Local Time
    02:36 PM

Quote Originally Posted by LeanneZ View Post
    How do I match the Architect's D.O.? Is there an easy way to match, or copy/monitor? (I see he has some other D.O.s that may or may not be related to the canopy... I may, at some point need structure for those also.)
    When a design option set is created, a new tab will appear in the visibility graphic overrides dialog. Create new views, and then assign a specific design option to those views (both host model and linked model). Copy/Monitor will still work in design options, but only for elements that can be monitored (columns, openings, floors, etc.)

How do I move the originally designed canopy to it's own D.O. so it won't show in the "Enlarged" D.O.?