Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Walls are transparent n 3D view

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18, 2017
    Location
    Eden Prairie, MN
    Posts
    81
    Current Local Time
    01:33 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Walls are transparent n 3D view

    I am drawing an addition to an existing building. In the 3D view, on the New Construction phase, the new walls are showing transparent and the existing walls are solid. When I switch the phase to existing, the existing walls are transparent. I can't figure out why. Anyone experience this in the past? Using Revit 2016 Architecture.

  2. #2
    Member BD Mackey's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 1, 2013
    Posts
    480
    Current Local Time
    01:33 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Look at the phase settings, more than likely the phase material that is overriding the object based material is set to be transparent.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18, 2017
    Location
    Eden Prairie, MN
    Posts
    81
    Current Local Time
    01:33 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks, but that doesn't seem to be the problem. None of the phases are set to be transparent. When the phase filter is set to show complete, all the walls are transparent. There must be a setting that I am not aware of. Other projects behave normally.

  4. #4
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,359
    Current Local Time
    02:33 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Is this just one View, or every 3D View?
    I have seen Views get corrupted. If that's the case, your only option is to re-create the View.

    One other possibility is those nasty old DWGs. Quite often if there's a DWG with some big wacked out coordinates, it can mes up a View.
    Try turning off the Visibility of DWGs in the View or, even better, get rid of the from your model.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18, 2017
    Location
    Eden Prairie, MN
    Posts
    81
    Current Local Time
    01:33 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    It's in every 3D view. Turning off the visibility of DWGs does not seem to help. I deleted the 3D views and created new ones but nothing has been successful.

  6. #6
    Member BD Mackey's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 1, 2013
    Posts
    480
    Current Local Time
    01:33 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    are all the walls the same material, has the transparency been set in the material or in the view graphics of a view template?

  7. #7
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,165
    Current Local Time
    02:33 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Brians first suggestion is it. Its in the Phase Filter OVERRIDES tab. New Objects should be set to *By Category.* If they are set to *Overridden* thats probably whats causing it.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    October 25, 2018
    Posts
    1
    Current Local Time
    12:33 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I had the same issue and it wasn't phase overrides. Try changing the default wall material to be 0 transparent.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    November 2, 2011
    Location
    Slaithwaite ("Sla wit"), W Yorks, UK
    Posts
    275
    Current Local Time
    08:33 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I've had this happen when setting the structure to be an invisible (possibly an air gap) material in an attempt to get the stud region of a studwork wall to show as a void in 3D cutaways. Even though the finish layers were set to a gypsum board material they were displaying as transparent in 3D views. Not sure if I nerfed the default material by doing that or if it was an air gap issue - it was a while ago...

  10.    #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    July 21, 2020
    Posts
    1
    Current Local Time
    02:33 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Make sure your linked Revit models are not set to "Underlay" in your Template/Visibility Graphics for your 3D models. I had the same issue going on and when I unchecked the "Underlay" option above my issue went away.

Similar Threads

  1. All of my walls are transparent?
    By jeeenyuss in forum Rendering and Gallery
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 1st, 2016, 02:57 PM
  2. Family with transparent colour plan view
    By aurimas in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 26th, 2015, 11:59 PM
  3. Realistic View / semi-transparent in Revit Architecture 2014
    By colnagoboy in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 10th, 2013, 03:22 PM
  4. Discipline view and non-bearing walls
    By LeanneZ in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 5th, 2011, 02:36 PM
  5. Transparent Glass not transparent in Section View
    By Elisa in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: December 17th, 2010, 05:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •