Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35

Thread: phase mapping

  1. #21
    Senior Member chris.macko's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 12, 2011
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    547
    Current Local Time
    08:31 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Ning Zhou View Post
    right, the naming of phase filters between host and link must match, phase naming doesn't matter, thanks all!

    I do think OOTB phase filters need additional one "Show Demo", sometimes we only need to show demo w/o showing new/existing, isn't it?
    That's easy enough to do with a new phase filter, but aside from exporting to another program to reassemble, would you ever actually show demo only without the existing for context on a sheet?

  2. #22
    Senior Member Ning Zhou's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 20, 2011
    Posts
    854
    Current Local Time
    06:31 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    most likely not, but it's good for checking besides exporting

  3. #23
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,549
    Current Local Time
    08:31 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I have "Show Demo only" filter for exactly the reason I posted above.
    When you Link and Bind a "Master" file into a new project, the Bind is dumb enough to bring in all elements - even if they have been Demolished.
    So you need a "Show Demo Only" Phase filter to see and select just the Demo'd elements.
    Or a Dynamo script - like the one I wrote last week.
    I can clean it up & post it if anyone is interested.

  4. #24
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,549
    Current Local Time
    08:31 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just so happens I'm doing this today.
    I've got an older project that I want to Link and Bind into a new project.
    I Link it it, I map all the phases from the Link to "Existing" in the new project.
    When I Bind it, everything from the Link ends up in New Construction
    Here's my Phase Mapping
    In the Link, there are several Phases before Exams
    I've added a "Future" Phase to both with nothing on it, just so I can have a phase that maps to the end.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Phase Map.PNG 
Views:	36 
Size:	16.3 KB 
ID:	33208

  5. #25
    Moderator snowyweston's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    C.LONDON
    Posts
    4,592
    Current Local Time
    02:31 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I've posted this before, but can't remember where or when, but it's a little study I did on the permutations possible of phases and (phase) filters...
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #26
    Senior Member Ning Zhou's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 20, 2011
    Posts
    854
    Current Local Time
    06:31 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by snowyweston View Post
    I've posted this before, but can't remember where or when, but it's a little study I did on the permutations possible of phases and (phase) filters...
    that's very very extensive man! but if you have linked model for phasing usage then you'll have to match phase filter names in linked files, that's exactly what i want OOTB phase filter for demo only so i won't have to worry about adding extra phase filter for demo only in linked model

    Quote Originally Posted by DaveP View Post
    Or a Dynamo script - like the one I wrote last week.
    I can clean it up & post it if anyone is interested.
    yes please post it here or in Dynamo section, i assume my slightly modified Python code works for you in
    Debugging Python thread

  7. #27
    Moderator snowyweston's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    C.LONDON
    Posts
    4,592
    Current Local Time
    02:31 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Ning Zhou View Post
    that's very very extensive man! but if you have linked model for phasing usage then you'll have to match phase filter names in linked files
    Oh I know it doesn't solve your woe - IIRC the study was more to capture the possibilities of a single file.

  8. #28
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,549
    Current Local Time
    08:31 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    No Python involved, just a couple of Packages. One from Archilab, and one of BWBR's own. Those are listed in the orange "Housekeeping" group.
    Our custom node just records the date, user name and script name to a log file, so it can be deleted.

    Fair warning: This is intended for Architecture only. I've got a long list of Nodes that call out Categories and I only included what I cared about as an Architect. Although it would be very easy to add nodes for Ducts, Pipes, etc.
    This script also deletes ANY Linked or Imported DWGs.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #29
    New Member
    Join Date
    February 11, 2021
    Posts
    1
    Current Local Time
    08:31 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hi...the phase mapping doesn't permit me to get the last stage in the connected venture document to show just as a past stage in my task. The exchange constrains me to set the "Stage from connected document" to a stage that exists in the connection; I can't set it to none or leave it clear. So I'm compelled to plan the last stage from the connect to my new stage, and that makes the remodel stage in the connection look like new work that is essential for my venture. The previous work in the connection does effectively show as existing. The best way to get the genuine last-utilized period of the work in the connect to appear just as a past stage in mine is to alter the connected document to add a future stage, that has nothing in it, so the nothing-in-it stage is there for me to guide to my most up to date stage.
    Last edited by DaveP; April 21st, 2021 at 06:03 PM. Reason: Removed link

  10. #30
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,939
    Current Local Time
    03:31 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    well, that is a reply to a some what old post and to be honest your post is rather hard to read. But hey, maybe somebody can help you

Similar Threads

  1. Phase Mapping
    By DaveP in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 24th, 2015, 05:43 PM
  2. View template being over ridden by phase mapping of linked model
    By AaronCar in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 24th, 2015, 12:34 AM
  3. Phase Mapping
    By DaveP in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 22nd, 2014, 10:16 PM
  4. Phase Filters not working as expected with Phase Mapping
    By snowyweston in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 19th, 2012, 11:39 AM
  5. Phases - Existing/Phase 1/Phase 2 - Braced Frame Elevations and such
    By LeanneZ in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 11th, 2011, 12:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •