Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: phase mapping

  1. #1
    Senior Member Ning Zhou's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 20, 2011
    Posts
    854
    Current Local Time
    06:48 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    phase mapping

    we've project previously using phases within single project model i.e. new, existing, etc
    now we use separate models i.e. new model linked w/ existing model
    basically we want that linked existing model to behave like existing elements within new model, sounds obvious and logic but phase mapping seems not working well?! or perhaps i'm doing it in wrong way?
    i uploaded simple rvts and image
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Capture.PNG  
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    BIM there, done that cliff collins's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    1,966
    Current Local Time
    08:48 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Phase mapping syntax must be EXACTLY the same in both models.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Ning Zhou's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 20, 2011
    Posts
    854
    Current Local Time
    06:48 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    thanks Cliff.
    i tried phase mapping EXACTLY the same in both models, and use VG > Custom to override Phase to Existing for that existing model, doesn't work.
    how to achieve the result of linked model as existing?

  4. #4
    Senior Member chris.macko's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 12, 2011
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    547
    Current Local Time
    08:48 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I usually add a new phase to the linked existing model so I don't have to have the linked model new construction matching the new model new construction. I don't think they need to match names exactly, that just automates the mapping part. If you can't modify the linked model, I think your only option is to change the phase filter by view in visibility graphics, or just halftone the whole link. If you're going to be doing any demolition in the linked model you'll need the future phase anyway.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Ning Zhou's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 20, 2011
    Posts
    854
    Current Local Time
    06:48 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    that's great tip Chris! adding new phase to the linked model is an easy task for sure

  6. #6
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,549
    Current Local Time
    08:48 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Is it just me, or does the Phase mapping work backwards?
    It seems to me that you should be able to pick a Phase in the Link and map it to a Phase in the Parent project.
    But it works the other way around.
    You have to pick a Phase in the Parent and say which Phase in the Link is mapped.
    Maybe if you are linking everything in current models, that makes sense.
    But these days we are more often bringing back a project we did (in Revit) years ago, and using it as a "background" for a remodel.
    We want to take all of the Phases in that old project and map all of them to Existing in our new project.

  7. #7
    Senior Member chris.macko's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 12, 2011
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    547
    Current Local Time
    08:48 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I can see how they would require something to map each phase to. If everything in the link was existing, how would a view set to "by host view" resolve itself if that phase didn't exist in the link? You're actively selecting the host model phases, the link is more or less along for the ride. I've never had an existing model that didn't require some demolition as part of a new phase of work, so that alone kind of makes it a non-issue for me. There has to be a future phase in the link to accommodate that.

  8. #8
    Member kubsix's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 31, 2011
    Location
    Quad Cities, Illinois
    Posts
    310
    Current Local Time
    08:48 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    With only one phase in the linked model the mapping is forced to show the "New Construction" elements of the Link in both phases of the Host. Add a phase in the linked model as Chris noted and map Existing to the phase with the wall and map New Construction to the other. You'll be set.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Ning Zhou's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 20, 2011
    Posts
    854
    Current Local Time
    06:48 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    the only pitfall is the datum object still need to be manually VG overrided as it's not phase aware

  10. #10
    Senior Member chris.macko's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 12, 2011
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    547
    Current Local Time
    08:48 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Are you talking about existing vs new grids and levels? I've created some yes/no parameters for those tied to filters in my view templates to address them. I've got a dynamo graph that will pull the information from linked grids so the structural and MEP guys can use the same information.

Similar Threads

  1. Phase Mapping
    By DaveP in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 24th, 2015, 05:43 PM
  2. View template being over ridden by phase mapping of linked model
    By AaronCar in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 24th, 2015, 12:34 AM
  3. Phase Mapping
    By DaveP in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 22nd, 2014, 10:16 PM
  4. Phase Filters not working as expected with Phase Mapping
    By snowyweston in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 19th, 2012, 11:39 AM
  5. Phases - Existing/Phase 1/Phase 2 - Braced Frame Elevations and such
    By LeanneZ in forum Structure - General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 11th, 2011, 12:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •