Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Array of Varying Nested Family

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    March 5, 2018
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    12:35 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Array of Varying Nested Family

    Hi,

    I'm trying to model a couple of parametric handrail models.

    I've got two different scenarios where I can't get any constraints to work. The two tasks are slightly different, the first the vertical bars need to change length as they are patterned. The second, the bars need to follow the references as the handrail slope changes.

    I assume this can be done, I just have no training in Revit. Would anyone be so kind as to explain this to me please?

    Thanks in advance,

    Jake
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Capture.JPG   Capture2.JPG  

  2. #2
    Senior Member DavidLarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 10, 2015
    Location
    Boise, Idaho
    Posts
    749
    Current Local Time
    05:35 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Are you making a family or doing it with the handrail tool?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    March 5, 2018
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    12:35 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I'm making a family, sorry, I thought I'd put that in there...

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    March 5, 2018
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    12:35 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Is anyone able to help out on this one? Thanks in advance.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    March 21, 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    275
    Current Local Time
    05:35 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The railing tool really is the preferred way to accomplish this, especially the one on the right. If you really need it to be a loadable family (why would you do that to yourself?), I'm sure you could wrangle some workarounds to make it work, but they won't be very straightforward.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    March 5, 2018
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    12:35 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hi Chris, thanks for the reply.

    The fact that it is a handrail isn't really important, I do quite a lot of families in Revit and this is just an example. What I am interested in is why I'm unable to array a nested family with varying lengths and wondered if anyone had a solution. I thought it must be something that people often require when creating custom families.

  7. #7
    Moderator snowyweston's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    C.LONDON
    Posts
    4,423
    Current Local Time
    12:35 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The trick would be to cut the arrayed (same length) child members in the parent family.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    March 5, 2018
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    12:35 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hi Snowyweston, thanks for the input, this is seems to be a solution that could work. I haven't been able to get it to work with nested families though, just in-place solids.

    Another issue is when I add child members by increasing the number of instances of the array, the cut misses the new members. As a workaround you can create the family with as many instances of the array as is practical and anything with less will be fine, but this isn't ideal.

    There surely has to be a proper solution for this?

    Example family attached for reference.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    August 19, 2011
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    507
    Current Local Time
    07:35 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Array the space between the members, not the members themselves.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    March 21, 2013
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    275
    Current Local Time
    05:35 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by ISOJake View Post
    There surely has to be a proper solution for this?
    Sort of, maybe, conditionally.

    Adaptive components should be able to accomplish the type of dynamic behavior you're after, but they come with their own set of limitations, including a steep learning curve. See here: RevitCat: A Dozen Reasons Not to Use Adaptive Components in Revit

    In the traditional family editor, arrays must contain identical items, since you are arraying a group, which must be identical (by definition). You can play with voids, etc, but the voids must be in the same family as the form you're trying to cut, so that limits nesting options. You want to array non-identical items; therefore, you're in the realm of creative workarounds outside of a "proper solution".

Similar Threads

  1. Cut a Nested Family (used to create an array) with a Void
    By ndjabiras in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: November 30th, 2017, 04:07 PM
  2. Void to cut end off array of nested family - A metal deck roof sheet problem
    By williamturner1 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: October 23rd, 2016, 06:20 PM
  3. Angled array nested into roof truss family
    By gioginnelli in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: June 26th, 2014, 06:04 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 2nd, 2014, 08:59 PM
  5. Array nested voids in a family
    By dzatto in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: May 25th, 2012, 03:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •