Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Reference planes and work plane

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    February 16, 2016
    Posts
    121
    Current Local Time
    01:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Reference planes and work plane

    Hello I am trying to create a heat pump.

    In front elevation I have created a reference plane called ôTop of Baseö.
    This I did by clicking two points 25mm above default reference plane used for plans.
    However, I try to look at reference plane by using workplane > show.

    I would have thought plane created in front elevation would be hovering over plane used for plan.
    But no, it is at 90 degrees to this.

    Is this what I should have expected? i.e. when you create a reference plane you are creating the Z plane, the XY plane is perpendicular to this?


    See attached images.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Heat pump 21 09 18.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	157.3 KB 
ID:	34768   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Heat pump 21 09 18a.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	45.3 KB 
ID:	34769  

  2. #2
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,509
    Current Local Time
    02:16 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    When you were in the elevation and choose Workplane > Show it would indeed show the Workplane you are currently in and not the one you just created.
    If you want to show a different Workplane you have to Set the Workplane as current first with the Workplane > Set function, pick the Top of Base ref plane as your Workplane and it should show the right one when you do Workplane > Show.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 4th, 2018, 11:15 AM
  2. Wishlist - Right-click on named reference plane, set as work plane.
    By ryntau in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 22nd, 2015, 05:30 PM
  3. General noob question: Work planes perpendicular to xy plane
    By ronario81 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 8th, 2013, 06:01 AM
  4. How to change reference line as the work plane in the middle of blend
    By felix_hadi in forum Tutorials, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 14th, 2012, 09:33 AM
  5. How to work appropriately with Reference Planes and Reference Lines???
    By SkepticSon in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 26th, 2011, 03:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •