Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Curtain wall does not show right in IFC- Profiled curtain wall

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    January 27, 2017
    Posts
    48
    Current Local Time
    03:17 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Curtain wall does not show right in IFC- Profiled curtain wall

    Hello everybody,

    I am battling with a bit of a problem.
    I have a facade consisting heavily of profiled / attached to top curtain walls.
    Whenever we make an IFC Export, the model shows very blocky in Solibri, chopping off the "profiling" and instead creating straight "stair like" edges.
    (please take a look at the attached images).

    I have tried all the IFC settings including different Levels of Detail for the export and same result, as well as exporting from both the german and the english revit versions.
    Googling the problem hasn't been very productive, and I could not find anything similar.

    Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!
    Greetings,

    Snuffy
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Panelrvt.PNG 
Views:	33 
Size:	36.2 KB 
ID:	35019   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Panelsol.PNG 
Views:	30 
Size:	25.3 KB 
ID:	35020  

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    January 27, 2017
    Posts
    48
    Current Local Time
    03:17 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    bumpidy bump?

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    July 26, 2017
    Posts
    1
    Current Local Time
    03:17 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hey! I am facing the same problem. I tried all IFC settings, but still no luck. Maybe someone else found a solution?

    Many thanks!

    Edit: So if anyone is interested: you have to use the system panel to get the correct ifc export. just duplicate the glazing panel and give it the necessary properties.
    Last edited by aleqx; January 23rd, 2019 at 11:36 AM.

  4. #4
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,628
    Current Local Time
    05:17 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Are you using the latest IFC exporter?
    Both a Curtain Wall and a normal wall work OK for me when exporting to IFC

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IFC export.PNG 
Views:	143 
Size:	31.7 KB 
ID:	35666  
    Last edited by Robin Deurloo; January 23rd, 2019 at 11:07 AM.

  5. #5
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,313
    Current Local Time
    10:17 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Nice branding, Robin!

  6. #6
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,628
    Current Local Time
    05:17 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveP View Post
    Nice branding, Robin!
    2 birds with 1 stone, it is my project basepoint as well
    And with some clients not wanting my logo on the sheets for some reason, it is a good way to sneak my website in there for all the other BIM people involved at least

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    January 27, 2017
    Posts
    48
    Current Local Time
    03:17 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I have tried both of your solutions @Robin and @Aleqx.

    Robin, yours works just fine, as long as you use a standard wall and standard mullions from Revit. As soon as you replace the PANELS themselves with let's say...a wall, it's the end of the line.

    Aleqx, Could you please elaborate on what to do with system families? In the images I have used only system families, added facade grids to them, then replaced the empty "glass" panels with walls.

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Unbenannt.PNG 
Views:	133 
Size:	13.2 KB 
ID:	35673  

  8. #8
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,628
    Current Local Time
    05:17 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    AH, yes with a wall replacing the CP it goes weird.
    I think what Aleqx means is that you do not replace them with a wall, but make a new Curtain Panel (copy the standard Glazed panel) and give that the right properties for your purpose.

Similar Threads

  1. Going from System Curtain Wall to a curtain panel on non orthogonal glazing
    By ArchitectChris in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 2nd, 2018, 10:21 AM
  2. Using a Curtain Wall type as a panel nested in a different type of curtain wall
    By itisntmakingsense in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: December 12th, 2016, 10:09 PM
  3. Custom Curtain Panel not responding to Curtain Wall Extents
    By kas9du in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 24th, 2015, 02:30 PM
  4. Problem with adding custom curtain wall panels to curved curtain wall.
    By aktaylorh in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 20th, 2013, 06:16 PM
  5. Sticky Notes: Curtain Wall Basics - Empty Curtain Panel
    By Sticky Notes in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 14th, 2012, 02:45 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •