Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Family - yes/no paramter - formula

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    January 8, 2019
    Posts
    1
    Current Local Time
    01:36 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Post Family - yes/no paramter - formula

    Hi,


    I'm trying to make a formula for a yes/no parameter which is depending on other yes/no parameters.


    I have three yes/no parameters:
    Handjes
    Isokorf
    Oplegging


    Basically what I want for the 2nd and 3th yes/no parameter is:
    To be turned OFF when one of the three yes/no parameter is ON


    How can I put this in a formula?? I've added a screenshot to show you guys the parameters.


    I've searched this forum and others, but no result. Thanks a lot to the guy/girl who can help me!!


    Kind Regards!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot family types.JPG 
Views:	19 
Size:	101.4 KB 
ID:	35541  

  2. #2
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,224
    Current Local Time
    07:36 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by BdeLeeuw View Post
    Hi,
    ...
    I've searched this forum and others, but no result. ...
    Welcome to Revitforum.

    I suggest you to search again. This topic has been covered here and in other forums multiple times. If you don't find results from the Search button of this forum, try searching in Google, and most likely it will take you to a thread here or a thread in the Autodesk forums, or Augi.
    Last edited by Alfredo Medina; January 9th, 2019 at 03:01 AM. Reason: grammar

  3. #3
    Mr. Revit OpEd
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Posts
    3,125
    Current Local Time
    04:36 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    THIS POST of Alfredo's might get you there.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    March 24, 2018
    Posts
    4
    Current Local Time
    12:36 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hello,

    I am not 100% sure what you are trying to do.
    You want to three yes/no parameter but you dont want to check/uncheck manually for 2nd and 3rd ?
    Or still, you want to check from three options?

    So if

    A,B,C are your potions to check but you cannot be bothered to turn off on you dont choose. Then you might wanna make dummy parameters and if you associate these parameters to objects to control the visibility then

    a =if(or(B,C),2<1,2>1)
    b =if(or(A,C),2<1,2>1)
    c =if(or(A,B),2<1,2>1)

    Now you associate the visibility with abc instead ABC.

    You still check/uncheck ABC parameter but you can apply separated formulas for each parameter.

    If I am off your point, sorry
    I recently figure out how to control yes/no parameters and got excited, willing to share with someone.

    Thanks,
    Yuki



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,224
    Current Local Time
    07:36 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Welcome to Reviforum

    Just a comment about formulas with OR or AND in yes/no parameters: the characters highlighted in red are unnecessary. Just do the OR or AND part, and Revit will evaluate that as true or false. No need to put IF, and then two greater than one, two less than one... Just: or(B,C)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2019-01-09_7-14-11.jpg 
Views:	57 
Size:	21.4 KB 
ID:	35547  

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    March 24, 2018
    Posts
    4
    Current Local Time
    12:36 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Oh yeah true.
    Thank you for pointing out.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Formula in family's parameters.
    By REVITED89 in forum MEP - Family Creation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 16th, 2016, 11:47 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 6th, 2016, 07:45 PM
  3. Revit Family Formula Help
    By knkagaki in forum MEP - Family Creation
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: June 23rd, 2015, 04:25 PM
  4. changing a curtain wall instance paramter to a type parameter?
    By jgu in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 22nd, 2012, 03:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •