Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Nested family swap some parameters disassociate

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    December 6, 2019
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5
    Current Local Time
    08:58 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hi Alex, thanks for your reply,
    To clarify, are you suggesting that making this a shared parameter may resolve the issue or that i should not be using shared parameter?
    Currently they are not shared parameters. I may play around with making them shared and see what happens i guess! I didn't really want to have them as shared but if it works i'll get over it! :-)

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    December 6, 2019
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5
    Current Local Time
    08:58 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    So to update I have replaced one of the offending parameters with a shared parameter. Still behaves the same. I have now confirmed also that the association is lost immediately if the type is changed away from the current selection. So since i have this happening to 2 different types I'm now at a loss. (without stripping them out and having different families... but that defeats my purpose. If anyone has any other suggestions to offer i'd be very grateful.

  3. #13
    Member Modderhoop's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 15, 2020
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    132
    Current Local Time
    12:58 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    It helps to never change types when in family editor, i have had multiple familys where it would work fine in project, but when changing type in family it would give an error.

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    December 6, 2019
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5
    Current Local Time
    08:58 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    But in this case you have to change types in the family editor. You have to change the type to the correct nested family in order to associate the parameters. Well for clarity i'm not actually changing types, I'm changing a "family type parameter". sorry for that confusion
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Family Type Parameter.JPG 
Views:	12 
Size:	199.8 KB 
ID:	38616

  5. #15
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,781
    Current Local Time
    08:58 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Rookio View Post
    But in this case you have to change types in the family editor. You have to change the type to the correct nested family in order to associate the parameters. Well for clarity i'm not actually changing types, I'm changing a "family type parameter". sorry for that confusion
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Family Type Parameter.JPG 
Views:	12 
Size:	199.8 KB 
ID:	38616
    A screen grab of a bunch of family parameters doesn't really say much, but I'll have a go.

    All nested families need to have, and use, the exact same control parameters linked through (shared parameters maintain consistency) or the link will simply dissapear when you swap to a nested family without it.

    IE. any nested family that does not have the identically linked parameter - BOOM - parameter unlinked when you change it to be current choice.

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    December 6, 2019
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    5
    Current Local Time
    08:58 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hi Elton,
    Thanks for trying to help, much appreciated.
    By the way if I could hug you right now i would.
    So the issue was not anything to do with the name of the parameter, shared or otherwise. This issue was that the parameter was not in ALL nested families. If i switch to a family that did not need that parameter, and hence didn't have that parameter, that was causing it to unlink. Easy fix now, add those parameters into the other nested families even if they are not needed.
    Creating a shared parameter didn't help, because i only created it in the host and ONE of the nested families.

    So am i missing some underlying philosophy of the software? Is it unusual that I need to create superfluous parameters just in order for them to maintain a link.
    Either way hours of mucking around and trawling the internet finally solved my issue so again, thanks!!

Similar Threads

  1. Nested Family...Visibility parameters
    By Stonehands in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 27th, 2018, 07:48 PM
  2. Batch swap Shared Parameters in Labels?
    By tzframpton in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: December 16th, 2016, 01:51 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 30th, 2015, 05:08 PM
  4. Double Nested Family parameters
    By AmbientDesign in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 13th, 2015, 02:00 PM
  5. nested family parameters to appear in schedules
    By BinaryRay in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: June 4th, 2014, 01:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •