Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: Vertical Clashes in Navisworks

  1. #11
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,615
    Current Local Time
    11:47 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Graph image, and screen shot attached.

    Then use that property (or any property you wanted) in Navis for your search set.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 2019-06-18_14-42-19.png   2019-06-18_14-41-34.png  

  2. #12
    Forum Addict tzframpton's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17, 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,068
    Current Local Time
    11:47 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    Verticals have an actual slope of "Not Computed" aka <blank> or "". So you can search for- and find- that, and write data to the pipes with the Slope set to "".
    I would also advise that when the slope tool is turned on, and you change an elevation that puts in a vertical, there's a very slight slope still applied to the intended vertical pipe. It's kind of a glitch in Revit, if you ask me, but not technically because you can and sometimes need pipes to "lean" in the vertical ever so slightly.

    I say this because it's a real thing in models, so I wanted you to be aware in case there was a less than or greater than that could be applied. Only OCD people like me will turn off the slope tool before I create a vertical through the elevation change, then turn it back on to continue with my sloped pipes. But this also can happen through slight edits, etc.

    Anyways, it may be splitting hairs, but if I had the option to include something that captured "leaning" vertical pipes, I would include it.

    -TZ

  3. #13
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,615
    Current Local Time
    11:47 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    No, its not splitting hairs: Its the exact reason i wouldnt keep the graph this way, if we wanted to assign a *tolerance* that we were considering *vertical.*

    In that case, i would collect startX, EndX, startY, endY, and StartZ, EndZ of the pipe, and set up some rules. Graph would be much bigger... But since i dont know what the assumptions or rules are yet, i couldnt do it if i wanted to. But its totally possible.

  4. #14
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,615
    Current Local Time
    11:47 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    So, Tannar's post made me curious, because those are the nuts-and-bolts problems we have to be able to solve, or our "solutions" arent real, and thats worthless. So i modified the graph to use the other approach, i discussed. This means there is now essentially a TOLERANCE you can enter: How far apart the start and end points of the pipe are (in feet and inches) that you still want to consider it "vertical." For right now, i set mine to 1/4". That means no matter how high up and down the pipe goes, if the X,Y point moves more than a 1/4", its not considered "vertical." This allows it to catch the modeling idiosyncrasies Tannar was talking about. And- of course- if you also want to catch pipes that are largely vertical but also canted at an angle, you can set that tolerance to be any value you want: 1'-0", or something.

    Then, i got curious how many pipes are like this, so i opened an MEP model i happen to have here, and ran both graphs:

    The one that uses the SLOPE parameter found: 1556 Pipes

    The one that uses the TOLERANCE method found: 1696 Pipes.

    An extra 140 pipes, that are modeled as Tannar described.

    Thanks for the tip, Tannar. Now we have something lightweight and usable. The graph could certainly be optimized a bit. In the chunky middle section i doubled up some nodes, because im not great with lists and whatnot. A real Dynamo guru could clean it up and make it more better.

    The graph itself:

    1. It collects all the Pipes
    2. Gets the start and end points of their Curves.
    3. Gets the X and Y values of those points.
    4. Performs a subtraction of Start X - End X, and Start Y - End Y, in two parallel branches.
    5. takes the result of number 4, and gets the absolut value of it (no negative values since we dont care about direction)
    6. Checks to see if it is greater than or equal to our "Tolerance" node, which is currently set to 1/4".
    7. Creates a list of both comparisons lists (giving is twice as many true or false "answers."
    8. Transposes the list, which means breaks them in to smaller lists (one per pipe) of both true or false answers from number 6.
    9. Looks for ANY of the conditions (of the two) to be TRUE. Filters those out, since those are the NON vertical Pipes.
    10. Takes the REST and sets the Comments to say VERTICAL, for Navisworks to Search Set. Of course, you could use any parameter you wanted, here. If i were doing this often, id make a Shared Parameter for it, personally.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Parallax Team-90-Project Data-Plumbing-Find all Vertical Pipes.png   2019-06-18_18-08-17.png   2019-06-18_20-36-13.png  

  5. #15
    Forum Addict GMcDowellJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,683
    Current Local Time
    10:47 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Good job Aaron!

  6. #16
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,615
    Current Local Time
    11:47 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks! Im thinking this needs to be a simple push button app, at some point. Not just this workflow, mind you, but there are a bunch of small *data pushes* that we do, prior to exporting to Navisworks. Maybe we need some ******* push buttons for that.

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 24, 2017
    Posts
    6
    Current Local Time
    05:47 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Could you not just add a comment in a non used Revit parameter field that says "I am vertical" (or some such lol) and make a search set in NW?

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

  8. #18
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,615
    Current Local Time
    11:47 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by kboydsheppard View Post
    Could you not just add a comment in a non used Revit parameter field that says "I am vertical" (or some such lol) and make a search set in NW?

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
    Sure... If you want to manually hunt around and manually select ever pipe or duct that is vertical or close to vertical, to enter that parameter in.

    Or you run the graph and it automatically does exactly what you are talking about.

    I guess if you get paid by the hour your way makes sense... Otherwise: automate.

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 24, 2017
    Posts
    6
    Current Local Time
    05:47 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Bah.... Isolate a 3d view to just pipes, view cube orient to an elevation, crossing window select horizontally..done

    Or add the comment as you add each pipe.

    Or do I miss something

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 24, 2017
    Posts
    6
    Current Local Time
    05:47 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I mean if you're looking for vertical clashes those pipes are going to go from level to level anyway so they should be easy to select any that dont go level to level or is too short isn't worthy of a clash anyways?

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 30th, 2018, 12:15 AM
  2. Import Clashes from Navisworks to Revit
    By alexo4141 in forum Third party Add-Ins, API and R&D
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 10th, 2016, 04:46 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 4th, 2015, 12:16 AM
  4. Navisworks - Stop focussing on clashes
    By domsib in forum Coordination Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 15th, 2014, 04:37 PM
  5. Removing clashes
    By mona miller in forum Coordination Tools
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: September 30th, 2014, 03:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •