Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Compoud Wall stutcure

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    October 16, 2016
    Posts
    442
    Current Local Time
    12:02 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Compoud Wall stutcure

    Hello all,

    When you create a wall with multiple layers (for example: concrete, insulation, Gypsum) in the core boundary do you put the structural material? In this case I need to put the concrete?

    Thank you in advance!

  2. #2
    Moderator cellophane's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 9, 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    6,387
    Current Local Time
    08:02 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The Core layer of the wall is typically the structural element(s), but there can be exceptions. If you split your walls into core & finish, the material that ends up in the core layer isn't necessarily structural, but you have to have something there, otherwise it can't make the wall.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    October 16, 2016
    Posts
    442
    Current Local Time
    12:02 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by cellophane View Post
    The Core layer of the wall is typically the structural element(s), but there can be exceptions. If you split your walls into core & finish, the material that ends up in the core layer isn't necessarily structural, but you have to have something there, otherwise it can't make the wall.

    What do you mean with 'split the walls'?

  4. #4
    Member Marcel Jansen's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 25, 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    253
    Current Local Time
    12:02 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Draw every layer as a single wall, it is more work, but it will give you a better material takeoff.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    October 16, 2016
    Posts
    442
    Current Local Time
    12:02 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by mjajansen View Post
    Draw every layer as a single wall, it is more work, but it will give you a better material takeoff.
    I would like to know which material we need to put in the core boundary.. only the structural material like concrete?


    Each time that I create the walls separated I have problem with the windows as the wrap isn't correct.
    Also if I split the walls vertical as needed, I think that the material calculations are more or less correct..


    Thank you in advance!

  6. #6
    Member Marcel Jansen's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 25, 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    253
    Current Local Time
    12:02 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The layers in a wall have to do with connection with other walls, how the layers connect.
    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...4BB25-htm.html

    And for material takeoff, it calculates in the middle of the wall, so you will have too much innerwaal and not enough outer wall if you order by Revit schedules.

    If you want your windows to be good in seperated walls all you need to do is join the wall to eachother and the window will cut the other wall too.
    Last edited by Marcel Jansen; June 12th, 2019 at 08:01 AM.

  7. #7
    Forum Addict Andres Franco's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 21, 2012
    Location
    Tours, France
    Posts
    1,122
    Current Local Time
    02:02 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by mjajansen View Post
    Draw every layer as a single wall, it is more work, but it will give you a better material takeoff.
    ^^ + 1 for this! that's the way I'll model those walls!

  8. #8
    Member tuekappel's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 6, 2012
    Location
    Frederiksberg, Denmark
    Posts
    338
    Current Local Time
    12:02 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Andres Franco View Post
    ^^ + 1 for this! that's the way I'll model those walls!
    For the young Maria: Andres is joking. He forgot to put the /s in the end of his sentence :-)

  9. #9
    Forum Addict Andres Franco's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 21, 2012
    Location
    Tours, France
    Posts
    1,122
    Current Local Time
    02:02 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by tuekappel View Post
    For the young Maria: Andres is joking. He forgot to put the /s in the end of his sentence :-)
    my bad, after several years practicing my English is far to be good!

  10. #10
    Forum Addict Andres Franco's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 21, 2012
    Location
    Tours, France
    Posts
    1,122
    Current Local Time
    02:02 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just to clarify!; I do model all layers of my walls and floors as separate walls or floors, far better to quantify and to control visibility graphics, not ot mention that is more the way the things will be done!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	wall layers.JPG 
Views:	32 
Size:	117.4 KB 
ID:	36828

Similar Threads

  1. Wall Top Condition in Wall Tag Without a Million Wall Types
    By twocon in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 28th, 2018, 03:18 PM
  2. Wall sweep on an angled wall (modified wall profile)
    By katewood1989 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 5th, 2018, 08:54 PM
  3. Wrap wall sweep at wall opening on a continuous wall
    By katewood1989 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 27th, 2018, 09:13 PM
  4. create a wall sweep on an angled wall (gable end wall) (2017)
    By ledgewood33 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 3rd, 2016, 06:34 PM
  5. Legend: Exist Wall, Demo Wall, New Wall.
    By doni49 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 29th, 2013, 06:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •