Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Making a Yes-No Parameter Off by default

  1. #1
    Member d.stairmand's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 24, 2011
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    371
    Current Local Time
    04:07 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Making a Yes-No Parameter Off by default

    Discovered this nice trick yesterday

    When you normally make up a New Parameter using a Yes-No Tick Box, by default Revit Turns it "on".
    When you have a few family types that's OK - You just go & un-tick them in your Family
    If you have more than about 5 types...it becomes an pain
    I always wondered if there was a way to turn them to "off" by default?

    One of the chaps I work with (Big shout out to Tim DB) told me about this trick he uses:
    (We use "On/Off" on graphics alot in detail components. the following relates to this)

    1 Create the Element that you want to be shown as "Off" by default.
    2 Select the element.
    3 Un-tick its "Visible" Instance Parameter (This is the most important step).
    4 Then create and or apply the new parameter to the element.
    5 Go into the type properties & check that its "Off" by default.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1+2.PNG   3.PNG   4.PNG   5.PNG  

  2. #2
    Senior Member ekkonap's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 23, 2011
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    588
    Current Local Time
    05:07 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Or just use a formula '1=2', hit Apply and remove formula. Value is now set for every Type in the Family.

Similar Threads

  1. Disable other yes/no parameter when checked without interrupting default not formula
    By corey0418 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 11th, 2019, 03:02 PM
  2. Editing the Default Parameter Value in a Family
    By Knapper77 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: September 11th, 2015, 05:50 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 4th, 2013, 11:15 AM
  4. Can you schedule Default View Template parameter?
    By Craig Howie in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: October 26th, 2012, 03:26 PM
  5. Setting default value for yes/no Shard parameter?
    By milos in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 9th, 2012, 08:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •