Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: How to create windows with different mullions/transoms

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    July 26, 2019
    Posts
    2
    Current Local Time
    06:12 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Question How to create windows with different mullions/transoms

    Hello.

    Very new to Revit and I am trying to create windows with different styles.
    The project I am working on has over 50 different window styles with varying amounts and style of mullions and transoms and I do not know how to create them.
    Any advice is much appreciated!

    Thanks.
    Sian

  2. #2
    Senior Member DavidLarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 10, 2015
    Location
    Boise, Idaho
    Posts
    752
    Current Local Time
    10:12 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I created my own windows with nested frame, sash and trim options. Each sash can be different to allow for the very thing you're looking for.

    https://www.revitforum.org/architect...-v4-r2015.html is a thread full of doors that have much the same thing going on.

    Are you working with windows with angles or curves? If so, better brush up on your trig and calculus.

  3. #3
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,618
    Current Local Time
    11:12 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Speaking of which....
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 2019-07-26_11-27-04.png  

  4. #4
    Senior Member DavidLarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 10, 2015
    Location
    Boise, Idaho
    Posts
    752
    Current Local Time
    10:12 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    No... just no... I kept mine simple enough that relatively new to revit drafters can make new ones if necessary. It's not like the builder will actually install what we draw anyway

    What window does that work with?

  5. #5
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,618
    Current Local Time
    11:12 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by DavidLarson View Post
    No... just no... I kept mine simple enough that relatively new to revit drafters can make new ones if necessary.
    Brand new Revit users CAN make new ones, because they dont ever have to interact with- or modify, or touch- these formulas.

    It's not like the builder will actually install what we draw anyway
    By that logic, why make window families at all? Why not just point to a hole in the wall and say WINDOW HERE?

    What window does that work with?
    One that's in MY library. Because i dont believe in "dont worry about it, the builder will do what they want."

  6. #6
    Senior Member DavidLarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 10, 2015
    Location
    Boise, Idaho
    Posts
    752
    Current Local Time
    10:12 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Twiceroadsfool View Post
    By that logic, why make window families at all? Why not just point to a hole in the wall and say WINDOW HERE?
    It's a bit of a running joke locally. The design build work we do tends to have the builder/client buying and installing whatever they want, not what we drew. I don't really care if the slider I called out gets turned into a double hung with a different muntin pattern. As long as the size doesn't change it's not my problem if they make it look terrible.

  7. #7
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,618
    Current Local Time
    11:12 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    By the way, what this family is doing:

    Its an Archtop Window, and it has parametric grids in it. But, since arrays cant have flexible parameters themselves AND be different sizes at the same time, you have to choose between: Having completely static families for Grids, or having parametrics and visibility parameters built in to the grids. So i do the latter, for the archtop or other circular sashed windows.

    Essentially, it allows a user to pick between 0 and 7 vertical grids, without having to modify anything. They dont ever have to see the parameters, ever have to hit edit family, or ever do any modding. And the formulas are all only one level deep, so there is no intensive processing.

    GIF at this link, since RFO wont let me post GIF's for some reason: https://parallaxteam.sharefile.com/d-sf99ea093d014c559
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 2019-07-26_13-18-45.png   2019-07-26_13-09-04.png  

  8. #8
    Senior Member DavidLarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 10, 2015
    Location
    Boise, Idaho
    Posts
    752
    Current Local Time
    10:12 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thanks. I'll have to delve into that sometime soon to see if we need that level of capability.

  9. #9
    Member Marcel Jansen's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 26, 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    225
    Current Local Time
    06:12 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    In the Netherlands we use a lot of curtain walls to make normal windows and doors.
    We can export those as LOD200 to matrixsoftware, which is used by the manufacturer. They can add all the different mullion and ventilation and what not and then export it. We then can import it as LOD 400.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mIULRVgxncA
    Last edited by Marcel Jansen; July 26th, 2019 at 09:45 PM.

  10. #10
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,618
    Current Local Time
    11:12 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Its interesting to me that every sample they have in the "Buffet" in that file, has no arcs or curves in it.

Similar Threads

  1. How to create Reveal around windows in revit
    By mousa qatoum in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: November 20th, 2017, 02:48 PM
  2. Door Transoms?
    By Alecsx in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: November 13th, 2014, 03:56 PM
  3. Parametric Grille Grid for Arched Transoms
    By redbeans in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: June 24th, 2013, 08:31 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 16th, 2012, 12:46 AM
  5. Is it possible to create curtain wall with arc top and make the mullions arced?
    By spotless in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: October 31st, 2011, 05:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •