Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Get parameter from linked file

  1. #1
    Junior Member Bogey1977's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 12, 2018
    Location
    Nederland
    Posts
    32
    Current Local Time
    07:56 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Get parameter from linked file

    Hi all,

    - I have a model with a structural linked file.
    - In this model I have a recess object in a wall/floor of this linked file.
    - This recess is not pinned/locked to this wall/floor. (if necessary it can be, but is not preferred).

    Is it possible to get a parameter from the wall/floor in the linked file?
    I want this parameter put into a parameter of my recess object.

    Regards

  2. #2
    Member kraftwerk's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 1, 2012
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    58
    Current Local Time
    11:56 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Welcome from Nederland! I was just listening to a European podcast yesterday discussing the recent advancement and modification of infrastructure of bike lanes and layout of residential housing the the Netherlands in a community outside of Amsterdam, although the name of the community escapes me now. I digress.

    If I can work through your issue. You have a recess family, something like a void, in the Structural model of a floor or wall. You want to fetch that family and specifically retrieve a parameter from that family and then mirror/copy to a family in your model?

    Am I in the ballpark? (To use an American saying) Maybe I should say, "Am I close to the futbol stadium?".

  3. #3
    Junior Member Bogey1977's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 12, 2018
    Location
    Nederland
    Posts
    32
    Current Local Time
    07:56 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Don't know the town where this is discussed, but I can imaging this.... Here we have a lot of bicycles and the upcoming of the speed pedelec (up to 45km/h) needs another approach on some bikelanes I guess.

    On topic,

    I have a recess family yes, but without an void (maybe adding a void lateron, but not right now).
    I have the recess family in my own project (this recess objects are send in a separate IFC-file to other parties).

    Yes I want Dynamo to fetch that recess family (which is in my model already), but don't want retrieve a parameter from that family I want add info to the recess family.
    The recess is placed on a wall (this wall is in the linked file), I want retrieve a parameter value from that wall, en copy that to a parameter in my recess in my own model.

    Hope this makes a bit clear?

  4. #4
    Member Bjorn_K's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 8, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    349
    Current Local Time
    06:56 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    What did you try so far?

    It is possible to get elements from Linked Files:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2019-08-21_1321.png 
Views:	10 
Size:	70.7 KB 
ID:	37253

    So maybe something like:

    Select your Recess Families, extract their placement point (or something similar), Extract the Geometry or Bounding Box of the Walls in the Linked Files. You can check for containment in Bounding Boxes, or run Intersection Checks if you go the Geometry route. That way you figure out which Wall belongs to Which Recess. Read from Wall like any other parameter in Dynamo, write to corresponding Recess Family like any other parameter.

    Bounding boxes only work reliably if 99.9% of your walls are Ortho in the project.

    Edit: As discussed earlies, you need a Filter in between to only do relevant containment/intersection tests to reduce computing time (By Level comes to mind)
    Last edited by Bjorn_K; August 21st, 2019 at 12:25 PM.

  5. #5
    Junior Member Bogey1977's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 12, 2018
    Location
    Nederland
    Posts
    32
    Current Local Time
    07:56 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Didn't try anything so far (over my head full of work hahaha).
    Thought to first ask here if this is possible.... and if YES then I give it a try, if NOT then better not spend my time on anything what isn't possible.

    Thanks for your answer, I guess I give it a try.... very happy this is possible

Similar Threads

  1. filter, schadule and searchset - linked Modell and shared parameter file
    By andreasdraxl in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: August 27th, 2018, 10:25 AM
  2. linked file to another linked file view and control problems
    By shotgun_banjo in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 4th, 2016, 01:47 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 24th, 2015, 09:16 PM
  4. Linked CAD file in a linked Revit file
    By maciejwypych in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 13th, 2014, 01:33 AM
  5. Mark parameter variance by linked file instance
    By Cyus in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 9th, 2014, 03:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •