Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: Fabrication Parts and Service

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    November 27, 2012
    Posts
    627
    Current Local Time
    09:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Fabrication Parts and Service

    how do you change the service type on the fabrication parts or add your own, all I see is 'ductwork 2500pa etc.' but seen you can have supply and return etc.. as you normally would.

    am I missing something or have to download something to add this?

  2. #2
    Member TFuller's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 7, 2014
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    398
    Current Local Time
    02:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Click the settings box in the lower right corner of the Fab Parts dialog, reload the configuration and then add from left to right the additional services you need. If two services use the same service template, a fab part object can have services swapped in the properties palette, otherwise you have to use the actual change service command in the contextual ribbon.

    If, after you reload the configuration, you don't have the additional services you need, then you have to edit the configuration database using CADmep inside of AutoCAD. Then welcome to a whole new world...
    Last edited by TFuller; September 3rd, 2019 at 09:30 PM. Reason: terminology

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    November 27, 2012
    Posts
    627
    Current Local Time
    09:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    where do you get new databases from, new manufacture parts, I think ive opned a can of worms looking into this - but then again might be more beneificial to us using fab parts as we do more coordinating in revit then designing.

    do you find fab parts workflow is slower or just same as using normal revit parts?

    cheers

  4. #4
    Member TFuller's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 7, 2014
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    398
    Current Local Time
    02:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Do you have Fabrication CADmep installed for AutoCAD? Essentially, without that I do not believe there is anything else you can do to modify or further develop what you have. You have to have a method for editing the database. Revit alone does not offer you that function.

    Since I have been using "Fab Parts" since 2009 (before ADSK purchased MAP-Software), I'm decent at the whole thing overall. I have found that teaching new Reviteers to use FAB parts has been more successful than generic Revit OOTB content (SysQue notwithstanding). FAB Parts is generally more "stable" in the Revit environment than the generic fittings and systems that tend to redefine themselves often. Stuff doesn't just reset instance parameters.

    Note: This is a very complicated topic to discuss. Crazy complicated. In no way should anyone take what I've written as gospel without doing further investigation of their own. This is a serious fork-in-the-road undertaking. Both paths have value.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    November 27, 2012
    Posts
    627
    Current Local Time
    09:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by TFuller View Post
    Do you have Fabrication CADmep installed for AutoCAD? Essentially, without that I do not believe there is anything else you can do to modify or further develop what you have. You have to have a method for editing the database. Revit alone does not offer you that function.

    Since I have been using "Fab Parts" since 2009 (before ADSK purchased MAP-Software), I'm decent at the whole thing overall. I have found that teaching new Reviteers to use FAB parts has been more successful than generic Revit OOTB content (SysQue notwithstanding). FAB Parts is generally more "stable" in the Revit environment than the generic fittings and systems that tend to redefine themselves often. Stuff doesn't just reset instance parameters.

    Note: This is a very complicated topic to discuss. Crazy complicated. In no way should anyone take what I've written as gospel without doing further investigation of their own. This is a serious fork-in-the-road undertaking. Both paths have value.
    I noticed some of the piping is manufacture specific, wondered if you could get other manufactures items in fab parts?

    cheers

    Yes got the cadmep and installed some of the content metric 7. something - I have had a little play with it, just wondering in say piping services are all the valves and equipment there that you will need, and in ducting can you still connect to say air terminals that are not fab parts?
    Last edited by nick_h; September 19th, 2019 at 07:15 PM.

  6. #6
    Member TFuller's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 7, 2014
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    398
    Current Local Time
    02:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Content:
    You can download additional parts from ADSK. With CADmep open in Autocad, right-click, go to CADmep, Utilities, Download Content.

    Also consider looking at third-party suppliers such as Trimble's Constructible Content (aka Building-Data), eVolve MEP (Applied Software) and Virtual Building Supply.

    You can build from scratch your own content based on CIDs, but sometimes it's best to copy something similar and start adjusting numbers. Choosing the right CID can be challenging when you are new. XtraCAD.com has some nice lists of which CIDs are compatible. As you dig into FAB databases even more that forum will be a great resource since it's been around for a long time and loads of great information is available.

    Duct:
    Yes - use Revit's air terminals, flex duct, and equipment. Use FAB Parts for hard duct and (most) duct accessories. Air Systems will no longer be design data through-connected like you were used to, but they are physically connected so tab-select still works. Air Systems will only consist of the mechanical equipment, the flex, and air terminal. Still manageable.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    November 27, 2012
    Posts
    627
    Current Local Time
    09:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by TFuller View Post
    Content:
    You can download additional parts from ADSK. With CADmep open in Autocad, right-click, go to CADmep, Utilities, Download Content.

    Also consider looking at third-party suppliers such as Trimble's Constructible Content (aka Building-Data), eVolve MEP (Applied Software) and Virtual Building Supply.

    You can build from scratch your own content based on CIDs, but sometimes it's best to copy something similar and start adjusting numbers. Choosing the right CID can be challenging when you are new. XtraCAD.com has some nice lists of which CIDs are compatible. As you dig into FAB databases even more that forum will be a great resource since it's been around for a long time and loads of great information is available.

    Duct:
    Yes - use Revit's air terminals, flex duct, and equipment. Use FAB Parts for hard duct and (most) duct accessories. Air Systems will no longer be design data through-connected like you were used to, but they are physically connected so tab-select still works. Air Systems will only consist of the mechanical equipment, the flex, and air terminal. Still manageable.
    Ah thanks for the info, going to have to a delv deeper into this. Iĺm sure Iĺll be back with more questions


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    November 27, 2012
    Posts
    627
    Current Local Time
    09:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by TFuller View Post
    Content:
    You can download additional parts from ADSK. With CADmep open in Autocad, right-click, go to CADmep, Utilities, Download Content.

    Also consider looking at third-party suppliers such as Trimble's Constructible Content (aka Building-Data), eVolve MEP (Applied Software) and Virtual Building Supply.

    You can build from scratch your own content based on CIDs, but sometimes it's best to copy something similar and start adjusting numbers. Choosing the right CID can be challenging when you are new. XtraCAD.com has some nice lists of which CIDs are compatible. As you dig into FAB databases even more that forum will be a great resource since it's been around for a long time and loads of great information is available.

    Duct:
    Yes - use Revit's air terminals, flex duct, and equipment. Use FAB Parts for hard duct and (most) duct accessories. Air Systems will no longer be design data through-connected like you were used to, but they are physically connected so tab-select still works. Air Systems will only consist of the mechanical equipment, the flex, and air terminal. Still manageable.

    Ive managed to get the fabmep libraries in revit now, but realised there is more when in autocad how do you get them also? i see there is more valves and manufactured parts than what i can see and use in revit.

  9. #9
    Member TFuller's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 7, 2014
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    398
    Current Local Time
    02:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    To add additional parts directly in Revit, you can use the Fabrication Parts settings dialog to add directly from your library:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	parts.JPG 
Views:	7 
Size:	136.4 KB 
ID:	37514

    In CADmep, add the items to the service using the Service Database dialog and edit the service template:

    https://help.autodesk.com/view/FABRI...5-B42D5D15D01F

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    November 27, 2012
    Posts
    627
    Current Local Time
    09:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by TFuller View Post
    To add additional parts directly in Revit, you can use the Fabrication Parts settings dialog to add directly from your library:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	parts.JPG 
Views:	7 
Size:	136.4 KB 
ID:	37514

    In CADmep, add the items to the service using the Service Database dialog and edit the service template:

    https://help.autodesk.com/view/FABRI...5-B42D5D15D01F

    Doesn't look like that on mine, do you have to be in newer verision than 2018?

    cheers

Similar Threads

  1. MEP Fabrication Parts 2D Export
    By TFuller in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 26th, 2019, 02:56 PM
  2. Fabrication Parts in Revit 2019
    By NAILZ7 in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 11th, 2019, 10:09 PM
  3. Ductwork System Parts V Fabrication Parts
    By Sean_Rooney in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: January 3rd, 2019, 03:13 PM
  4. Fabrication Parts Revit 2018.3
    By nick_h in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 21st, 2018, 05:25 PM
  5. Revit 2016 Fabrication parts
    By lukemcgary in forum MEP - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 11th, 2016, 07:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •