Thread: Deck Display Thickness (Gage)

Current Local Time
    04:25 PM

Not allowed! Not allowed!

Deck Display Thickness (Gage)

Hello all,

I'm new to modeling concrete on metal deck floors. I noticed that, when cutting a section parallel to the deck span, Revit displays the thickness of the deck (e.g. the deck gage) much thicker than the Thickness parameter specified in the deck profile. For example, most of the default steel deck profiles have a 1/32" Thickness (see image below), yet they are displayed at almost exactly 10% of the deck rib height (e.g. 0.2" for a 2" deck, 0.3" for a 3" deck, etc.Śsee second image below). Is there any way to reduce the display thickness of the metal deck or maybe to just not show those additional lines at all and just show the top and bottom lines of the deck rib? Thanks in advance for your help.

Dave
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Deck Profile Thickness.png   Deck Display Thickness.png  

Current Local Time
    05:25 PM

so i have never actully dimensioned this but the 45deg. slope at the end is what your are seeing is it 3/16"

Current Local Time

Quote Originally Posted by Darius View Post
    so i have never actully dimensioned this but the 45deg. slope at the end is what your are seeing is it 3/16"
    Very good question. I hadn't thought of that. Unfortunately, that doesn't look to be the case, because: (1) on every deck I've checked, the gap is exactly 10" of the deck height (e.g. on a 2" deck, the gap is 51/256"~0.2"); and (2) as a test, I created an abnormally large deck profile (8" tall) without those 45░ lips on the ends and the gap still shows up and is once again 10% (0.8"). Thanks for your input!

Current Local Time
    11:25 AM

Ive never been able to work out how to change the distance; I think its just there as a visual reference.
    What I have worked out is how to turn them off - and its not obvious.