Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Roof help

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    March 21, 2018
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    08:54 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Roof help

    Hi
    I am trying to draw a roof to a single storey house with porch. My porch roof needs to be 300mm above the main roof. I am not getting it right and do not understand what I am doing wrong. Can anyone help me please? I am attaching a revit file and a picture.
    Regards
    parm
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Roof Porch.JPG  
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    July 26, 2019
    Location
    DFW, Texas
    Posts
    52
    Current Local Time
    02:54 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Well, that's a newer version than mine--what, exactly is the problem?

    Have you tried Join Roof?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    March 21, 2018
    Posts
    7
    Current Local Time
    08:54 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hi CapnMac
    Thank you for your reply. Yes I tried joining roof but my roof line was leaving an undesired valley between the porch and main roof. This valley is not practically workable.
    Regards
    Parm

  4. #4
    Forum Addict sdbrownaia's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 20, 2010
    Posts
    1,102
    Current Local Time
    03:54 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    you have to make the lower roof wider (grow to the right) to raise the ridge to eliminate the valley, or you need to modify your porch roof moving it left to ellimnate the unwanted valley. This is not a revit problem but a roof design issue.

  5. #5
    Senior Member kamranmirza's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 12, 2011
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    572
    Current Local Time
    08:54 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by CapnMac View Post
    Well, that's a newer version than mine
    That roof file was in v.2016 - which version are you working in ?!?

  6. #6
    Senior Member kamranmirza's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 12, 2011
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    572
    Current Local Time
    08:54 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by enaries View Post
    My porch roof needs to be 300mm above the main roof. I am not getting it right and do not understand what I am doing wrong.
    Unlike floors, roofs sit on the Revit Level at their BASE.

    And the extra height you are getting is from the difference in the thicknesses of the two roofs in an inclined (plumbcut) thickness, NOT as a difference of 300-150mm.

    Plus the roof sits on Revit level on the INSIDE of the overhang. See image below. Hope this helps.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PLAN.JPG 
Views:	14 
Size:	73.0 KB 
ID:	37472 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SECTION.JPG 
Views:	13 
Size:	55.7 KB 
ID:	37473

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    July 26, 2019
    Location
    DFW, Texas
    Posts
    52
    Current Local Time
    02:54 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by kamranmirza View Post
    which version are you working in ?!?
    2015 (employer is stingy)

Similar Threads

  1. Roof with one plane on a different plate height **complex roof system**
    By lparnell583 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 7th, 2016, 10:42 PM
  2. Roof framing plan - roof visibility issue
    By sknsnw9 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: September 16th, 2015, 04:15 PM
  3. How to use downloaded roof panels family and input them on roof surface
    By kjubas in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: July 2nd, 2014, 12:31 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: May 5th, 2014, 09:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •