Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Revit Walk Through like in ArchiCAD?

  1. #1
    Lurker
    Join Date
    October 19, 2019
    Posts
    1
    Current Local Time
    04:20 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Revit Walk Through like in ArchiCAD?

    Hello Fellas,

    is there a function to fly in 3D View Port? I mean like in ArchiCAD: https://youtu.be/Ew6ysc-ym_Q?t=18

  2. #2
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,448
    Current Local Time
    04:20 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The video is about making a walktrough on a set path, you can do that in Revit as well.
    The bit in the beginning where he walks trough the building as sort of a video game, you can not do that in Revit, get something like Enscape to do that and look much better as well.

  3. #3
    Member tuekappel's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 6, 2012
    Location
    Frederiksberg, Denmark
    Posts
    338
    Current Local Time
    04:20 AM

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Robin Deurloo View Post
    walks trough the building as sort of a video game, you can not do that in Revit
    Not entirely true. Full navigation wheel has a walk mode, except the interface is terrible. Set up perspective camera, navigation wheel, click and drag to move.

    But: No WASD+mouselook, no collision detection( so you walk through walls, stairs etc). Terrible. I concur on the enscape part.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2019-10-20_0953.png 
Views:	17 
Size:	61.8 KB 
ID:	37684
    Last edited by tuekappel; October 20th, 2019 at 08:57 AM.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    November 4, 2012
    Posts
    88
    Current Local Time
    04:20 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    On the navigation wheel > look you can fly with the arrow keys. Same as archicad fly first person mode just you have to use the arrow buttons instead of wasd

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    December 16, 2010
    Posts
    888
    Current Local Time
    01:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    The answer in short, is no, it does not exist like it does in Archicad.
    There used to be "Revit Live" but Autodesk have disabled this service, and also it was not very intuitive.

    The longer answer is yes, you can do it. But its not immersive and easy to use.

    There is an exception to that, if walkthroughs like this are something you do often, and need to show clients, then I suggest you invest in the plugin Enscape3D.
    Enscape3D is very easy to use, and produces nice quality renders very quickly, for a small amount it is worth every cent for the licence (IMO)

  6. #6
    Member Andrew P's Avatar
    Join Date
    February 19, 2011
    Posts
    369
    Current Local Time
    04:20 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Karalon10 View Post
    There is an exception to that, if walkthroughs like this are something you do often, and need to show clients, then I suggest you invest in the plugin Enscape3D.
    Enscape3D is very easy to use, and produces nice quality renders very quickly, for a small amount it is worth every cent for the licence (IMO)
    You can't model in an Enscape view which is what you want. People use the Walkthrought or fly function in Archicad or other 3d software to literally walkthrough the model as they model at the same time.

    Enscape is your best option at the moment if you only have Revit.

  7. #7
    R.I.P. MPwuzhere's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    4,864
    Current Local Time
    07:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    It's pretty simple to just switch back to Revit, make a change, then jump back to Enscape and see the changes instantly. Unlike other programs where you have to export the model each time.

    But agree...I do miss the WASD in ArchiCAD and we don't have many Enscape licenses.

  8. #8
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,131
    Current Local Time
    09:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    There is something on the Revit Road Map called "View Navigation Improvements" listed as "Accepted Revit Idea"
    https://blogs.autodesk.com/revit/201...p-august-2019/
    So it's possible that there is hope.

Similar Threads

  1. create Navis walk-through via Revit walk-through
    By Ning Zhou in forum Coordination Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 10th, 2018, 04:35 PM
  2. archicad to revit
    By Darius in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 4th, 2016, 11:35 AM
  3. revit 2015 - real time walk through?
    By klj in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 22nd, 2015, 10:16 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 11th, 2013, 06:45 AM
  5. ArchiCAD into Revit
    By hanski in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 1st, 2013, 08:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •