Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Revit Complete Cabinetry System 3.0

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    January 22, 2013
    Posts
    1
    Current Local Time
    12:18 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Revit Complete Cabinetry System 3.0

    Hi All,

    RCCS 3.0 is currently in development & we have created some new technical demo videos on YouTube
    to share with Revit users.

    https://youtu.be/5NernF04l3g
    https://youtu.be/gPhEEN-6CI0
    https://youtu.be/wlrElBk8_sE
    https://youtu.be/6PxmiO5eWpg
    https://youtu.be/Z25aJSF8ti4

    If you are interested in this system then please subscribe to my channel for new videos each week &
    let us know what you think in the comments.

    Thankyou,
    Enrico Bulic

  2. #2
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,624
    Current Local Time
    08:18 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Ewww. I know a few firms that use the "Curtain wall as Cabinets" method. I personally cant stand it.

  3. #3
    R.I.P. MPwuzhere's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    4,864
    Current Local Time
    06:18 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I remember bringing up the idea at a former employer...got shot down...just to find my supervisor decided to try it anyway.

  4. #4
    Forum Addict GMcDowellJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,687
    Current Local Time
    07:18 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I tried it. Seemed to work well at first... and then I realized that every time you move a grid line Revit considers (or seems to at least) the impact of that movement over the entire curtain wall. The larger your wall of cabinets, the worse it gets. Sounded like a good idea!

  5. #5
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,624
    Current Local Time
    08:18 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    And then you end up with Toe Kicks at the wrong dimension because its Instance.

    And then you end up with Cabinets that arent real, because someone used Place One Grid Segment Only and subdivided cabinets in to something that makes the weird-****-o-meter spike.

    And then someone edits the Type of Curtain Wall, gets the message about deleting Gridlines, doesnt know which option to click, and deletes all the Cabinets (my favorite).

    And then someone adds a grid, it divides a cabinet, it breaks, and they need tech support to place another cabinet.

    Im so over it. lol

  6. #6
    Mr. Revit OpEd
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Posts
    3,069
    Current Local Time
    06:18 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Yeah, I don't get it either. What exactly is the "win" going that route? It seems like it just adds an entirely unnecessary layer of complexity (curtain walls) to something fairly simple...place cabinets... I did work with a client where they really wanted something sketchy for schematic design where they didn't care about cabinets precisely...just linear feet of cabinetry and the "basic appearance" of cabinets. For that we found railings workable with cabinet profiles. Later they could place cabinets individually or what one of their enterprising team created face-based "casework" that were just the face of cabinets (drawers/doors).

  7. #7
    Forum Co-Founder Alfredo Medina's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Current Local Time
    09:18 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I had never heard of cabinets made as curtain walls. Strange that someone uses that method to create a library for public distribution. Because important projects usually have BIM manuals that architectural firms need to comply with. That set of "cabinets" would be a violation of those standards; therefore, we could not use them.

  8. #8
    Mr. Revit OpEd
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Posts
    3,069
    Current Local Time
    06:18 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Alfredo Medina
    I had never heard of cabinets made as curtain walls. Strange that someone uses that method to create a library for public distribution. Because important projects usually have BIM manuals that architectural firms need to comply with. That set of "cabinets" would be a violation of those standards; therefore, we could not use them.
    I get that. The notion of building curtain panel families for casework so I can use them in curtain walls is entirely counter intuitive to me and for most firms entirely unexpected by a Revit user. Imagine joining a firm and hunting for casework only to find you've got to place curtain walls first...

    ...nearly as goofy as the door tool not working for putting a door in a curtain wall!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    November 2, 2011
    Location
    Slaithwaite ("Sla wit"), W Yorks, UK
    Posts
    268
    Current Local Time
    02:18 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_Stafford View Post
    ...nearly as goofy as the door tool not working for putting a door in a curtain wall!
    I just love the look on new users' faces when you try to explain this one!

  10. #10
    Senior Member Alex Page's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    691
    Current Local Time
    03:18 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Only time its been relevant for me to use casework within a curtainwall was when it actually was part of an off-the-shelf glazed partitioning system, therefore it wasnt included in the casework package
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CW Casework.png 
Views:	26 
Size:	481.9 KB 
ID:	37753
    (crikey: Im getting old, this project was complete about 12 years ago!)

Similar Threads

  1. walls not showing complete in section (Revit 2017)
    By Nico in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 23rd, 2018, 09:49 AM
  2. Tagging cabinetry doors that were built in-place
    By cnd in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: September 24th, 2015, 09:51 PM
  3. Parametric Cabinetry Family - Nesting problems
    By hastyle in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: October 23rd, 2013, 01:49 AM
  4. Importing Cabinetry from another 3D application
    By Pashcal in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: January 21st, 2013, 05:04 PM
  5. I've installed my revit software but its not complete! how can i complete it?
    By smshiran in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 19th, 2012, 03:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •