Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Detail component regenerate too long

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    March 14, 2016
    Posts
    55
    Current Local Time
    09:02 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Detail component regenerate too long

    Hi,

    I create a window frame family with instant length dimension. Every time I change the length it takes so long to regenerate. Anyone know why is that? Please help.

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    November 4, 2012
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    152
    Current Local Time
    04:02 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    (I think you mean instance instead of instant)

    The family itself would help a lot, but my guess without seeing the family, is that a lot of things are locked to each other, and you have a lot of unnecessary constraints in the family.

    I also saw long regen times, if the project itself was too much constrained, is the problem persist if you load it to an empty project which contains nothing just a wall?

    Can you upload the family to some file sharing service and share the link?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    March 14, 2016
    Posts
    55
    Current Local Time
    09:02 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    See link [FONT=Verdana,Arial,Tahoma,Calibri,Geneva,sans-serif]https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ag1NtUpqVXTn4BwnjpmVm9QSkLkP?e=q27lEe. Let me know what the issue. I try to change length, it's take forever to generate. Thanks.[/FONT]

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    November 4, 2012
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    152
    Current Local Time
    04:02 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I guess this drawing was imported originally, Revit doesn't like imported things.

    I could add the parameter this way: select all lines -> cut to clipboard, assign the parameter to the dimension, paste aligned to same place. After this I got the following warning:

    Performance Warning: This family now contains labeled dimensions or tangency constraints as well as sketches with many segments. This may hurt performance. To improve performance, create elements that require complex sketches as nested families.
    Also pasting this lines to a new family I got the warning: "line is too short"

    So according to this warnings, the problem is it contains too much small lines, and even some splines. I could improve performance a bit by grouping all elements which shouldn't change with the dimension (so basically group the section of the mullion).

    You can also try create a new detail family just for the mullion and load it to this family, and this family only contains the lines going to the right ref plane. I did this for you, you can download this family from here: https://send.firefox.com/download/13...yob0keS6o-FQ7A

    For the best result I wouldn't explode the imported dwg, just trace over with revit lines, use pick line for main lines, than remove the imported dwg.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    March 14, 2016
    Posts
    55
    Current Local Time
    09:02 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Thank you very much for your help! Now, I know what the issue.

Similar Threads

  1. Detail Component vs Line Based Detail Component
    By d.stairmand in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 23rd, 2017, 03:52 AM
  2. Creating Detail Component
    By Yan Naing Bo in forum Structure - Family Creation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 25th, 2012, 09:21 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 7th, 2011, 02:15 AM
  4. Image to detail component
    By bangobeat in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 17th, 2011, 03:56 PM
  5. Detail Component
    By gdoherty0102 in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 14th, 2010, 10:42 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •