Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Worksets within linked files

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    149
    Current Local Time
    08:09 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Worksets within linked files

    We have our Str. Eg. rvt file linked in on it's own workset. Within that file the S.E. has their own worksets for blockwork, steelwork, grids etc. All good so far.

    However when one person within the team opens a workset within the linked S.E. model and synchs, it pushes that setting to all other users when they synch

    Is there a way around this? We have one person checking the S.E. blockwork which other users dont want to appear within their model each time he / they synch.

  2. #2
    Mr. Revit OpEd
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Posts
    3,132
    Current Local Time
    12:09 AM

    3 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You could create a workset in your own model with the same name and not visible in all views by default. Then that user can open load the link and turn on that workset in views.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    149
    Current Local Time
    08:09 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Nice idea Steve, so we'd have 2 links for the S.E. model one that everyone turns on automatically and one that is specific for the brick / blockwork?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 18, 2011
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    431
    Current Local Time
    01:09 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    You'd still have 1 link... but 2 worksets. 1 workset for the structural link... 1 workset with the exact name that structural is using for blockwork. Structural has to make sure they are not sloppy with putting elements on their worksets.

    Could filters isolate down to just the blockwork?

  5. #5
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    10,797
    Current Local Time
    02:09 AM

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by cheinaranta View Post

    Could filters isolate down to just the blockwork?
    Yes. They could. (As long as the model is halfway decent). Thats how we do it here.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    149
    Current Local Time
    08:09 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by cheinaranta View Post
    Could filters isolate down to just the blockwork?
    It's not just blockwork in reality. It's blockwork, brickwork, windposts, lintels etc.
    Last edited by robp; January 17th, 2020 at 09:49 AM.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    149
    Current Local Time
    08:09 AM

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by cheinaranta View Post
    You'd still have 1 link... but 2 worksets. 1 workset for the structural link... 1 workset with the exact name that structural is using for blockwork. Structural has to make sure they are not sloppy with putting elements on their worksets.
    Thanks (and to you Steve!!) that works perfectly.

Similar Threads

  1. Revit OpEd: A Case for Worksets - Opening Linked Files
    By Revit OpEd in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 7th, 2016, 01:15 AM
  2. Linked Models & Worksets
    By kirklyncox in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: May 21st, 2014, 06:04 AM
  3. Linking Revit Files or Worksets
    By mona miller in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 13th, 2014, 07:51 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: March 6th, 2013, 02:47 AM
  5. Revit OpEd: Linked Files with Linked Files
    By Revit OpEd in forum Blog Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: October 2nd, 2012, 05:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •