Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 41 to 50 of 50

Thread: Families have become unusable

  1. #41
    Member anthonyB's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 31, 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    487
    Current Local Time
    07:37 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    We have a project that has just been upgraded from v2018 to v2020.2. It has not yet shown signs of the problem.

    A couple of points to note on the Autodesk article:

    1.
    "Q. What models are affected?
    A. The issue can affect workshared models that were created or upgraded in Revit 2020.0 or 2020.1 which are then repeatedly modified in Revit 2020.2. ... The following models are NOT affected:
    * Non-workshared models
    * Workshared models created and exclusively modified in Revit 2020.2"

    Does this mean that a model created in v2017 or earlier and upgraded directly to v2020.2 (bypassing 2020 and 2020.1) will be unaffected?


    2.
    "Q. What if I have already installed Revit 2020.2?
    A. If everyone on the project team is working in 2020.2, there are a few one-time operations you can take in a Revit 2020.2 build to prevent the issue:
    * Rename ...
    * Save the model as a new central (must be a new file, not Save As to the same location) OR
    * Reload ...
    * Move ..."

    For a project as yet unaffected by the problem, this would seem to be the easiest solution. Am I reading it correctly? Do I just need to Open Detached and Save a new Central as a different name?

    Thanking you.
    Last edited by anthonyB; February 5th, 2020 at 09:05 PM.

  2. #42
    New Member
    Join Date
    February 4, 2020
    Location
    Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3
    Current Local Time
    05:37 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just wondering if anyone know if this will affect Revit Project Template files as well?

  3. #43
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,383
    Current Local Time
    04:37 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    As the KB Article says:
    Quote Originally Posted by anthonyB View Post
    A. The issue can affect workshared models that were created or upgraded in Revit 2020.0 or 2020.1 which are then repeatedly modified in Revit 2020.2. ... The following models are NOT affected:
    * Non-workshared models
    Templates cannot be not Workshared, therefore they are not affected

  4. #44
    Autodesk QA
    Join Date
    January 22, 2020
    Posts
    12
    Current Local Time
    05:37 PM

    8 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hi everyone,

    I’m pleased to announce the release of Revit 2020.2.1 is now available:
    https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/revit...w/td-p/9304420. Thank you all for quickly alerting the Revit team and providing feedback! I will continue to monitor this post; please reach out if you have any specific questions or need any assistance.

    Sincerely,
    Jill

  5. #45
    Member
    Join Date
    December 11, 2010
    Location
    Astana
    Posts
    250
    Current Local Time
    03:37 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    I noticed that two versions of the hotfix 2020.2.1 were released:
    20.2.11.3 20200206_0915 (x64) and
    20.2.12.1 20200210_1400 (x64)
    I could not find information about the difference.
    Do I need to reinstall the update? A later update does not update the previous one.
    Last edited by Nurlan; March 12th, 2020 at 08:07 AM.

  6. #46
    Autodesk QA
    Join Date
    January 22, 2020
    Posts
    12
    Current Local Time
    05:37 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Nurlan View Post
    I noticed that two versions of the hotfix 2020.2.1 were released:
    20.2.11.3 20200206_0915 (x64) and
    20.2.12.1 20200210_1400 (x64)
    I could not find information about the difference.
    Do I need to reinstall the update? A later update does not update the previous one.
    Hi Nurlan,

    If you have the 20200206_0915 patch then you are all set! To clarify why there are two builds, we offer a full install of each update and our process dictates that the builds are different - but from a binary perspective they are are identical.

    Here is a resource that ties builds with updates: https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...it-update.html

    Thanks,
    Jill
    Last edited by ADSK_Coffeyj; March 12th, 2020 at 02:25 PM.

  7. #47
    Member
    Join Date
    December 11, 2010
    Location
    Astana
    Posts
    250
    Current Local Time
    03:37 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hello Jill,

    Version 20.2.12.1 is available with a new installation. This is a bit confusing

    List of builds https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...it-update.html

  8.    #48
    Member
    Join Date
    July 15, 2014
    Location
    Nahville, TN
    Posts
    55
    Current Local Time
    04:37 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just wanted to check in since this thread went dark after the 2020.2.1 patch was referenced. Did that seem to solve the issue for everyone? It seems that there is now a 2020.2.2 patch as of 05/06/2020 . Are folks seeing any of these issues on that version?

    We have a model in 2018.3 that we need to upgrade to 2020. Right now, our workstations are still on 2020.1 . From reading this thread, it's sounding like I should definitely NOT upgrade them to 2020.1 . Just curious what others have seen since this thread went dark.

  9.    #49
    Member anthonyB's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 31, 2011
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    487
    Current Local Time
    07:37 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    We did upgrade all machines to 2020.2 and never had the problem. Projects are generally not upgraded, but those that were taken to 2020.2 were fine.
    Last edited by anthonyB; September 15th, 2020 at 01:55 PM.

  10.    #50
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,260
    Current Local Time
    04:37 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by zsmith3 View Post
    Just wanted to check in since this thread went dark after the 2020.2.1 patch was referenced. Did that seem to solve the issue for everyone? It seems that there is now a 2020.2.2 patch as of 05/06/2020 . Are folks seeing any of these issues on that version?

    We have a model in 2018.3 that we need to upgrade to 2020. Right now, our workstations are still on 2020.1 . From reading this thread, it's sounding like I should definitely NOT upgrade them to 2020.1 . Just curious what others have seen since this thread went dark.
    The thread didnt go dark without coming to a resolution, first. As was stated earlier: Upgrading the model to 2020.2 and performing any of the one-time operations mentioned above, and then making sure everyone is on 2020.2 (EVERYONE) that is in the model, and there wont be any issues.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 7th, 2017, 01:16 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 7th, 2017, 01:16 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 7th, 2017, 01:16 AM
  4. Export the families from one project to another Or how to keep/copy families
    By Yan Naing Bo in forum Structure - Family Creation
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 15th, 2015, 03:53 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 5th, 2013, 01:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •