Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: MEP Objects showing up in all architectural floor plans

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    September 23, 2015
    Posts
    21
    Current Local Time
    04:40 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    MEP Objects showing up in all architectural floor plans

    We have 2 linked models with MEP services in them. The services are modelled at high level (eg up towards the ceilings if not above ceilings). We can see ducts, mech outlets, lights etc in all our floor plans.

    Architectural plans are set as all to associate level and follows:
    Top of view range 2300mm
    Cut at 1200mm
    Bottom of view range 0mm
    View depth 0mm
    No underlay on


    Any thoughts? I don't want to just turn off the MEP models - that kinda defeats the point!

  2. #2
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,682
    Current Local Time
    06:40 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Just turn off those categories in your view template.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    September 23, 2015
    Posts
    21
    Current Local Time
    04:40 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Quote Originally Posted by Robin Deurloo View Post
    Just turn off those categories in your view template.
    That doesn't really help us with coordination. We want to see the MEP that is at floor level.

    I tried importing the MEP model to an OTTB revit template. Same view range and underlays set as default...and it works the way I want it to - only services below the cut plane show up.

  4. #4
    Moderator Robin Deurloo's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2011
    Location
    Rotterdam, Holland
    Posts
    1,682
    Current Local Time
    06:40 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Ah OK, thought you didn't want to see it at all in your 'regular' floor plans.

    But in this case I can't really think about anything from the top of my head that will solve it, but have some things you could look at.

    Linked View and View range in the RVT Link Display Settings maybe?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    196
    Current Local Time
    05:40 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    MEP families are generally rubbish from my experience, they have loads of 2D stuff that shows regardless of whether you want it to or not. MEP guys create their families solely for their own drawings (rightly so in some ways i guess) but they dont work well with other disciplines.

  6. #6
    Forum Addict GMcDowellJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,852
    Current Local Time
    09:40 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Ask them to change the visibility of the nested GA to not be visible at some detail level (I prefer Fine). If they accommodate then all you need to do is set the detail level of those categories accordingly.

    And next time put this in your BIM Execution Plan.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    196
    Current Local Time
    05:40 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by GMcDowellJr View Post
    And next time put this in your BIM Execution Plan.
    That's the best way to get people to comply otherwise i fear you're fighting a losing battle.

    I know i was when i asked for MEP to make amendments to their families. My main bugbear was that they showed 2D symbols for the item that bore no relation to the size of the actual item and so when we came to do setting out of elements within ceiling panels we had no idea whether we could fit things in the panel we showed.

  8. #8
    Administrator Twiceroadsfool's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    11,257
    Current Local Time
    11:40 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by ceilidhhiggins View Post
    We have 2 linked models with MEP services in them. The services are modelled at high level (eg up towards the ceilings if not above ceilings). We can see ducts, mech outlets, lights etc in all our floor plans.

    Architectural plans are set as all to associate level and follows:
    Top of view range 2300mm
    Cut at 1200mm
    Bottom of view range 0mm
    View depth 0mm
    No underlay on


    Any thoughts? I don't want to just turn off the MEP models - that kinda defeats the point!
    So... It depends on WHY they are showing up: If they are showing Generic Annotations, as someone mentioned, its an easier fix: View Template : VG:RVT Link (Custom) : Annotations tab (Custom) : Annotations all off.

    Modeled duct above the Cut Plane shouldnt be showing up at all, unless something weird is going on in your View settings. Lights, EQ, Air Terminals.... May be issues with the specific families, which will suck. But usually the GA off deals with it.

  9. #9
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,380
    Current Local Time
    11:40 AM

    2 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by robp View Post
    MEP families are generally rubbish from my experience, they have loads of 2D stuff that shows regardless of whether you want it to or not. MEP guys create their families solely for their own drawings (rightly so in some ways i guess) but they dont work well with other disciplines.
    I hope they aren't reading this, but one of our consultant's families have a bunch of Sub-Categories:
    • #1 Red
    • #2 Yellow
    • #3 Green
    • etc.


    Rather than saying what those subcats are actually used for.
    Wonder where they got those names . . .

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    November 18, 2016
    Posts
    196
    Current Local Time
    05:40 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveP View Post
    I hope they aren't reading this, but one of our consultant's families have a bunch of Sub-Categories:
    • #1 Red
    • #2 Yellow
    • #3 Green
    • etc.


    Rather than saying what those subcats are actually used for.
    Wonder where they got those names . . .
    i nearly posted that they have simply "ported" their CAD symbols through but didn't want to be overly critical, it's probably another case of the heirachy wanting Revit drawings to look like CAD drawings

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 16
    Last Post: June 12th, 2018, 08:43 PM
  2. Merging Mass objects and Cleaning up Floor plans.
    By RevitRyan in forum Architecture - Conceptual Massing and Adaptive Components
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 31st, 2015, 04:55 PM
  3. Lights showing on floor plans
    By MPwuzhere in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 26th, 2014, 03:37 PM
  4. objects showing up on the wrong floor
    By tumbo in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 2nd, 2013, 03:45 AM
  5. Objects appear in elevation on floor plans
    By galetondesigns in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 30th, 2013, 08:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •