Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Can't find level line in detail view

  1. #1
    Senior Member PatrickGSR94's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2017
    Location
    Hernando, MS
    Posts
    565
    Current Local Time
    05:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Can't find level line in detail view

    I have a detail that's a callout of a building section, but the floor level line is missing. The building section shows the level lines, and the 3D extents cross the area of the detail callout, verified both in the building section and in a 3D view. I tried uncropping the detail view, turning on hidden elements, checked that Levels are turned on in V/G, checked that it's on the right workset, everything that I can think of, yet the level line is still missing. What am I missing?

  2. #2
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,194
    Current Local Time
    05:20 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    When I can't understand why something isn't displaying properly, my default is always to blame a DWG.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 18, 2011
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    431
    Current Local Time
    04:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    filters, view template (or lack of it overriding). Cut with line is on?

  4. #4
    Senior Member Alex Page's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 14, 2010
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    705
    Current Local Time
    12:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Do Grid lines show?
    Sure its not a drafting view? (had to ask!)

  5. #5
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,715
    Current Local Time
    09:20 AM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Did you check that the 3d extents of the level are actually crossing perpendicular (ie. are being cut) to your view plane?

  6.    #6
    Senior Member PatrickGSR94's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 7, 2017
    Location
    Hernando, MS
    Posts
    565
    Current Local Time
    05:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    There are no filters on the view, and the template has Far Clipping set to Clip without line. Grid lines show, all levels are on the Shared Levels workset, and all levels intersect the entire building in all directions.

    There should be 3 levels visible (Ground Floor, Second Floor, Roof) but I can only see Ground Floor and Roof in this particular section view. Doing Select All In View only selects the two. If I uncrop the view and repeat, still only the two. If I turn on the light bulb and do it again, still only the two.

    The second floor level in this one building section (and its callout detail) are absolutely nowhere to be found!
    Last edited by PatrickGSR94; January 29th, 2020 at 08:52 PM.

  7.    #7
    Member
    Join Date
    December 11, 2010
    Location
    Astana
    Posts
    189
    Current Local Time
    05:20 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Scope Box; workset.

  8.    #8
    Forum Addict GMcDowellJr's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 21, 2010
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,734
    Current Local Time
    04:20 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Try Select All in Project. Then Maximize Extents if you get all 3.

  9.    #9
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,194
    Current Local Time
    05:20 PM

    1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Not sure which of you is the chicken and which is the egg, but Tim (RevitCat) did a blog post about Levels very recently
    http://revitcat.blogspot.com/2020/01...n-section.html

  10.    #10
    Forum Addict elton williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    December 7, 2010
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Posts
    2,715
    Current Local Time
    09:20 AM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    After another quick scan I see no mention of Revit version.
    If you're in 19/20, double-check the level extents in 3D (yeah I'm still bangin' on about extents).
    If that doesn't produce juice, try recreating the section view from scratch to see if it's maybe a view corruption thingy.

Similar Threads

  1. View Filters - Change of Detail Level
    By MartinGT in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: December 11th, 2018, 03:49 AM
  2. Use detail level to hide 3D geometry in plan view?
    By Sim_nn in forum Architecture - Family Creation
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: October 24th, 2017, 01:13 PM
  3. View Template Negates Default View Detail Level
    By evan.dodds in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 11th, 2016, 09:09 AM
  4. View's detail level deos not match view template setting
    By safoulkes in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: June 11th, 2014, 10:41 PM
  5. Confused about View Scale and Detail Level
    By terran in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 3rd, 2012, 07:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •