Thread: Specialty Equipment Families and their tags and schedules

Current Local Time
    03:27 AM

Not allowed! Not allowed!

Specialty Equipment Families and their tags and schedules

Hey all,

I'm having trouble with some families, schedules and tags.

Someone in our office crated a family (X) that has a parameter "label" there is an equipment tag (A) that reads this label.

Someone else created a family (Y) that has the same parameter "label", there is a separate tag (B) that reads this label.

So basically if you tag family X with tag A you get the info you want, if you tag it with B you get a question mark and vice versa.

I cannot figure out what the difference between the families, or the tags is.

If these families are included on a schedule it will require two columns, both with the header "Label".

I am still fairly new to family creation, so any guidance you can provide would be invaluable.

Current Local Time
    01:27 AM

1 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Each label is a shared parameter. They have different guid's in the back end, and can have identical names. If you are using a custom parameter it must be shared to appear in both schedules and tags.

My first question is - do you REALLY need a custom parameter? Why don't the inbuilt parameters like Description or Type Comments not work?

If they have to be a custom parameter every family and tag needs to use the same shared parameter. There should be one shared parameter file everyone pulls from, and I'd export the parameter from one family, use it in the second, and always work with that shared parameter going forward.

Current Local Time