Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Desktop Connector and Linked Revit Model Updates

  1. #1
    Forum Addict tzframpton's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17, 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,103
    Current Local Time
    05:14 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!

    Question Desktop Connector and Linked Revit Model Updates

    Has anybody had success in the Desktop Connector, especially in using it to update Revit models that are Links? As an MEP discipline, I'm wanting this tool to act as a Windows Explorer type of environment where if I drag/drop a new Revit model from the architect, it overwrites the previous file with the new one and updates on our BIM 360 Cloud models. Our current workflow is a Detach > Upload with new suffix, then Reload From within Manage Links of our host model. Trying to streamline this process. Any comments would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

    -TZ

  2. #2
    Moderator DaveP's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 10, 2011
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    3,194
    Current Local Time
    05:14 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    IMHO, the Desktop Connector is a necessary, but dangerous tool.
    From what I understand, the Desktop Connector link points to the Published versions of models.
    That's fine if you're using the Publish/Consume process, but if you're directly linking "live" models, it can point to the wrong copy.
    We've had several projects where out consultants used the Desktop Connector to link models only to fins out that we hadn't Publish for weeks.
    And it's even worse in 2020. When they took the BIM 360 link out of the Places Bar, people now think that the Connector link is the ONLY way to find a Link.

  3. #3
    Forum Addict tzframpton's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 17, 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,103
    Current Local Time
    05:14 PM

    Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Well that's a bit disappointing. Thanks for the comments Dave, I think I will stay back from the edge on this one.

    -TZ

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 27th, 2018, 03:15 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 19th, 2018, 03:45 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: April 17th, 2018, 11:45 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 30th, 2017, 11:15 PM
  5. Revit 2017 [for BDS] Updates Not Showing on Autodesk Desktop App
    By kamranmirza in forum Architecture and General Revit Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 9th, 2016, 10:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •